Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I never liked pickled beets, I made them for my husband and I ate the eggs but this recipe is so good I love the beets now. This will be the recipe I'll use from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My husband had pickled beets before but not pickled eggs. He wasn't quite sure about the purple eggs. I only added a pinch of the cinnamon and you can still really taste it. Next time I'll leave it out completely. Oh, he loves purple eggs now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My husband loves pickled eggs so I gave this recipe a try - I increased the vinegar to 3/4 cup and left out the cinnamon. I added a bit of thin sliced red onion when I layered everything into a glass jar with a tight fitting lid. You really have to let these set for at least four days to get that rich deep reddish purple color all the way through to the yolk. These are always great with beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe has been pasted down for generations in my family. Awesome! However, eggs and beets should marinate 3 days for best flavor. The egg white is purple but the yolk remains yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PersnicketyPT
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe brought back memories of growing up in Pennsylvania Dutch country. The eggs taste just as I remember them - great. As I was making them, my husband looked at me like I was nuts (he grew in AZ, what can I say); but after he tasted them he also agreed they were very tasty. I can see these are going to become a frequent addition to our diet. I did omit the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, but opted out of the cinnamon, and they were yummy! Just as I expect pickled eggs to be. I took them to Easter and others enjoyed them as well. I made mine Friday night and let them sit until Sunday, stirring every once in a while to make sure they evenly purpled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
It's Easter and time for pickled eggs in my house. I could not find my recipe so I had to find another one similar to mine and came upon this one. I don't use cinnamon in my pickled eggs and like to add sliced onions and found I had to double up on the vinegar but the deep purple color and the taste was a hit with my family. I have already added this recipe to my recipe collection. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Try replacing cinnamon with 1 tbls. of Pickling Spice. Add slivered onion. Works very well with the eggs especially and doesn't undermine the beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I also grew up eating these. They are wonderful! I do not add sugar or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Love pickled eggs. Grew up eating them at holidays. The purple color from the beets is fabulous. If you think this sounds gross your wrong, remember it's refrigerated so it's just like a hard boiled or deviled egg. I don't add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danigirl

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States