Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I used what I had on hand and it was fantastic. 1 can 14.5oz diced tomatoes(w/juice) instead of 28 oz of crushed and 1/4 cup of oil was the only changes I made. I cooked the garlic in the oil and when I poured in the tomatoes I mashed them a little. This is really simple and fresh tasting. Might use fresh basil next time. Great in a pinch. My chicken parm came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
As written, this is pretty bland and watery, imo. However, it is a nice basic recipe that can be improved upon and tweaked to personal preference. Personally, I sautee some chopped onion in olive oil, then add the herbs (regular Italian seasoning), garlic, pepper, a little chicken broth, and the tomatoes. Husband doesn't like chunks of tomato so I usually put the tom's in a bowl and whizz them up a bit with a hand-held blender. If I'm in the mood for a thicker, more robust sauce, I add some tomato paste and more chickie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I made this for dinner tonight, adding in double garlic, and some oregano and it was delishious! I will definatly make this again maybe adding a splash of chili powder for zing and some chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I never made pasta sauce before and this gave me some great direction to start a sauce and then add my own touch to it. My recipe changes every time. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
A fabulous start to a sauce of your own! I used a can of diced tomatoes because that's all I had on hand. I doubled the garlic, added 1 TSP oregano, 1 TBSP sugar, 2 TBSP ketchup, and 1/2 TSP crushed chillies. It's a delicious and fresh tasting sauce. Thanks!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I don't think we would like this sauce with just pasta, but it was perfect with Stuffed Shells III, by Renee. If you like stuffed shells, this sauce with that recipe makes a wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Quick and easy to make. I had all the stuff and it didn't require a trip to the store, so it gets and extra star for just that reason. I don't know that the taste is anything spectacular. It was good though and my neice who was staying with me when I made it loved the fact that there was no meat in it. I added a little sugar to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Super quick. All the garlic gives it an almost spicy kick. My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I'm 15 and I love to cook but I'm not too good with making complex things...This recipe was absolutely excellent!!!!! I made it for lunch and my mom came home and had it and LOVED IT! She took it back to work and everyone wanted the recipe!! It was so easy to make and it was SO good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I really didn't expect this sauce to taste as great as it did- I will never buy another jar of sauce. It cooked faster than the pasta and was a very sweet sauce! I did add some oregano and extra basil. The beauty of this is that you can add anything to it and it's great- I added green pepper, mushrooms (drained), and some italian sausage- perfect for the chunky sauce lover. It was awesome!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States