Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
My husband loved the taste, thought I had labored forever in the kitchen. I did add onions to the garlic when sauteeing & also added oregano & more basil. Very easy, I will never buy jars again, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I've made this a few times now and it's great! I had never made pasta sauce before but hated the idea that I had no control over the ingredients. This is perfect, can be changed to suit tastes and takes hardly no time at all. I use a lot of garlic, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and sometimes add olives too. I also add a can of diced tomatoes because I like a chunkier sauce. Very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Wonderful and so simple. I even found canned crushed tomato with basil already included. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is a good starting point. We added crushed pepper and some tomato suace to give it more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
i really enjoyed the ease & freshness of this sauce. no modifications were made aside from my stirring in a small sauteed onion. i served this with angel hair pasta and the delicious tomato chicken parmesan (also from this website). thanks for the recipe liarose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was a really good basic recipe. I added some meat for bolognese and i put in loads more basil than in the recipe and a touch of chilli. Next time I will add onion, mushroom and cinnamon. Double garlic too probably. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I used what I had on hand and it was fantastic. 1 can 14.5oz diced tomatoes(w/juice) instead of 28 oz of crushed and 1/4 cup of oil was the only changes I made. I cooked the garlic in the oil and when I poured in the tomatoes I mashed them a little. This is really simple and fresh tasting. Might use fresh basil next time. Great in a pinch. My chicken parm came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
As written, this is pretty bland and watery, imo. However, it is a nice basic recipe that can be improved upon and tweaked to personal preference. Personally, I sautee some chopped onion in olive oil, then add the herbs (regular Italian seasoning), garlic, pepper, a little chicken broth, and the tomatoes. Husband doesn't like chunks of tomato so I usually put the tom's in a bowl and whizz them up a bit with a hand-held blender. If I'm in the mood for a thicker, more robust sauce, I add some tomato paste and more chickie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I made this for dinner tonight, adding in double garlic, and some oregano and it was delishious! I will definatly make this again maybe adding a splash of chili powder for zing and some chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I never made pasta sauce before and this gave me some great direction to start a sauce and then add my own touch to it. My recipe changes every time. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States