Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I have never made my own sauce before and looked for a basic one I could make in a pinch. This was soooo easy and tasted great and my favorite part is that it's so much cheaper than jarred sauce. My family loved the flavor of it. Now that I have this basic recipe I'm branching out with adding other herbs and veges. I can now enjoy pasta more than I ever did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
So easy and so tasty! My husband liked this better than store bought sauce. This is a great base to make whatever kind of sauce you want by adding mushrooms, meat, or bell pepper. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I really liked this recipe; I think it's a really good simple jumping point to making pasta sauce to your own taste :) I made this a few months ago, adding more garlic, basil, oregano, and lots of crushed red pepper flakes (I love my sauces spicy) and it was a really good sauce. I would recommend it to anyone who is just starting to make their own pasta sauces. Best part is I always have almost all of this on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used this to replace pasta sauce in another recipe. If you love sauces with basic tomato flavor, this one is good. I didn't really feel it was awesome on any level. I wouldn't use it again, unless I ran out, like this time. Its not the recipe's fault by any means, its just not dimensional enough for what I use pasta sauce for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Super easy to make, even on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good! Could have even more flavor, but a great starting point with many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by church.lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
For the limited ingredients in this recipe, the sauce was delicious! I made it yesterday and loved how quick and easy it was to put together. It tasted fresh compared to the overly sweet bottled sauces. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Absolutely the best pasta sauce recipe I have ever made and in my 63 years, I have tried a few! I started with sauteing a chopped onion with the garlic (only 2 cloves ) and a little sugar to cut the acidity. Also used fresh basil instead. No salt was necessary either. Used on the Eggplant Parmaesan II recipe. Fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
It's hot today and I didn't want to spend a lot of time cooking. So I thought spaghetti! Of course I had no pasta sauce. I found this recipe. Of course, I did not have a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I did have a 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes pre-seasoned with basil and garlic. So I substituted that and used a few leaves fresh basil since I grow it. Tossed with the pasta and sprinkled with Parmesan. It was yummy and no one noticed it wasn't the typical sweeter taste of a store bought sauce. And it was ready in less than 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Used a bit extra olive oil and six leaves of fresh basil instead of the dried--this is a gorgeously easy and delicious sauce. My go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Quick Alfredo Sauce with Spinach Salad

See how to make fresh pasta with Alfredo sauce and a simple salad.

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States