Quick Pasta Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Never made this dish before, it was easy and very tasty. I used turkey bacon, fresh garlic and neufchatel cheese in place of cream cheese. Added fresh black pepper and red pepper flakes for a bit of zing...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Not good at all! The cream cheese lumped up and after sitting for a few minutes became hard. I followed the recipe exactly, but in the end had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
delicious! will double the bacon next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the recipe, and used extra bacon. My bacon was already pre-cooked/crumbled, so I just used butter instead of bacon grease. I followed some other reviews and sauteed onion and garlic before adding the other ingredients. I didn't really measure the parm., I just added it until it was the consistancy that I wanted. This came together very nicely and had a great taste. I also added some parsley and black pepper at the end to the sauce for something extra. I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
A good base recipe. Like others I doubled this, but still found it bland even after adding fresh garlic, seasoned salt and pepper. A little more seasoning on the finished dish and it's good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Delicious! This was so easy and fast to make for dinner that it is going to be a definite repeat on my menu. I used low fat milk and it came out just fine. Granted it doesn't taste quite like Carbonara sauce, nontheless it is perfect (and much easier) this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
My family loved this dish!!! The only change I made was to substitute the milk with heavy whipping creme. Very rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is wonderful and very easy. I doubled the recipe using a pound of pasta. I actually tripled the parmesan to 1 1/2 cups. I didn't drain the bacon grease, my bacon was lean so I left it all. I added extra seasoning, like black pepper and a few drops of Lousiana hot sauce for flavor. I wasn't fond of the peas in this dish, next time I will add sliced mushrooms or maybe chicken instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this recipe the night I returned home from vacation. I wanted something quick and easy, made with things that I had in my pantry. This recipe was all of those things. While I knew going into it that I wouldn't get an authentic carbonara flavor, this was a little tiresome on the palate - flat and uninteresting. I might tinker with this recipe again to see if I can make it a bit more to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Super easy and it was a HIT! The family loved it and it was a quick recipe for a weeknight evening. Added some fresh baked garlic bread to finish it off and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States