Quick Oyakodon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this tonight for my Japanese husband and he loved it! Said it reminded him of comfort food his mom used to make when he was growing up. Thank you for a great recipe! Super easy....I made rice in the rice cooker rather than on the stove and doubled everything including the sauce so there were leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie
Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was OK. I did leave out the mushrooms because the bf hates mushrooms, but I'm not sure how much difference it would have made. He liked it, I thought it kind of tasted like funky fried rice. Since we both agreed we like my fried rice better, I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I liked this recipe, it had a good flavor, was easy to make, and was fairly cheap too. I especially liked the addition of syrrachia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BachFromTheDead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It was really quick and easy. I used half terriyaki and half soya sauce for the 1/4 cup. Next time, I'll add more egg, I used three, and it wasn't enough. Perfect taste for my family. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was delicious! Easy to make with stress-free prepping. I didn't have shitake mushrooms so I used regular ones instead, and I also didn't add the snow peas in. Tastes great and seems pretty healthy (notice you didn't have to use oil at all in this recipe!) I'll definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
It was pretty good, but tasted nothing like the Oyakodon I ate many times in Japan. The sauce was too thin and the dish needed more salty flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoenixlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Tip: Try to use UNSALTED stock if possible. If all you have is salted stock, reduce the soy sauce a bit to avoid the final dish being too salty. This recipe lives up to its name - very quick to make! Followed it almost exactly, but I used homemade dashi stock (unsalted) instead of chicken stock because I was also making miso with a dashi base. Recipe urned out beautifully, but chicken stock would be fine. I loved that this recipe used easy to find ingredients. Husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Didnt think it would be good but it was in fact DELICIOUS. The only change I made was to add extra chicken (we are a meat loving household), double the sauce, and add an extra egg and some egg white to compensate for the extra chicken. It was fantastic and my daughter (20 mo old) gobbled it up. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was delicious! I'm new to cooking Japanese food (this was the first time I've ever used shiitake mushrooms!), and my husband is VERY picky when it comes to how good/authentic his Japanese food is. I found this dish a breeze to prepare, and he thought it was delicious and wants me to make it again! Fantastic recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made this for dinner and it was wonderful! My fiancée who is very picky about any type of Asian food said this was great and asked me to make it again. This would be great to add anything you like to it. It is a wonderful base, but also good as is. Be sure to be careful how much sauce you put on top of the rice as you will not need to use all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Utari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States