Quick Nariyal Burfi (Indian Coconut Fudge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Not sure what happened here, I followed the recipe exactly but even after 24 hours this still had not firmed up. Such a shame as it looked delicious in the pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
sticky, did not set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I have never had Indian Burfi before, so maybe the texture is accurate for the dish. But I thought it was incredibly gooey, I could barely pick it up. On top of that, the flavor wasnt great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good, very rich. Not sure I am a fan of cardamon. I might mix half with and half without next time to see how I like it. I only used half the cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made this fudge for an Indian luncheon our Dinner Club was having and the other ladies just raved about it! I made it the night before and chilled it until about 30 minutes before serving. The cardamom is very strong if you only chill the fudge for the one hour the recipe calls for. I found that by making it a day ahead, the flavors had all blended nicely by serving time and the cardamom wasn't as over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy, Fast, and delicous. I only like coconut with certain desserts and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This did not work for me at all and I followed the recipe to the letter. It was sticky and gooey and didn't set. Next time I'll just microwave it longer (or maybe not - the end result was fun!) If I had to rate it on the taste though, it would get 5 stars. I salvaged it by forming little balls and rolling them in chopped toasted almonds then dipping in white chocolate. They were yummy anyway and it was like a feeding frenzy around the dish when they were put out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This recipe is so very good. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 tsp of cardamon. If they were dipped in choclate it would taste like a bounty bar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Interesting recipe. I used unsweetened coconut and it soaked up all the milk - is that normal? I ended up giving it less time in the microwave due to that. The bars were a little on the dry side but more than sweet enough. Also, I didn't want to waste the remaining half can of milk so I added unsweetened cocoa powder to it (about 1 1/2 T.) then drizzled it on top of the bars which gave it more of an Almond Joy flavour as I didn't use the cardamom. Very chewy, but right tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States