Quick Nariyal Burfi (Indian Coconut Fudge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jo-ey
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for an Indian theme dinner. I microwaved as directed and it set up just fine. Instead of putting in a pan for squares I rolled mixture into small balls, put in small (petit four) cups and dipped tops in sugar coated fennel seeds for some colour. The recipe makes a large batch, I would reduce the amounts next time to match one can of milk. Thanks for recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a yummy treat! Sinfully delicious as I couldn't put it down. It was also a very easy recipe to follow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
nothing great - just tasted heavily of coconut and was really gooey (but set)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
First, let me say I have no idea what "real" burfi is supposed to take like, but this is a great, fast and easy coconut candy recipe. I made it around the holidays the first time, and make the recipe as directed except I added some pistachios and cut back on the cardamom powder. The second time, to reduce the sugar, i used 1 can of condensed milk and for the remainder, used unsweetened evaporated milk (I did have to cook a bit longer). I added white chocolate, almonds, vanilla and dried cherries - also very good. This recipe is better as it ages and dries out a little. Don't try to take shortcuts in the microwave, it will boil over - like oatmeal - and make a big mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was wonderful!! We loved it. Followed recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Unfortunately, this was not that good. It never firmed up, it was too gooey. And it was WAY too sweet! It tasted like I was eating condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
1 tablespoon of cardamom is excessive! Not only is the spice pretty strong even in small doses, it's rather expensive, so I hesitated after sniffing my container and only put in a teaspoon. Even at that, it made a pretty strong presence, so I can imagine three times that would have made it inedible to me. The resulting candy was pretty good though, and if you are used to a strong punch of cardamom, I suppose the recipe as-is might be what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
As written, it would be much too sweet with both sweetened coconut and sweetened condensed milk. Also, I think it's not really like burfi; it seems more like a shortcut recipe for Coconut Macaroons. Gave 2 Stars because it's a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wow, this was very popular! I did it a little differently and therefore I have some questions. 1: I didn't have enough condensed milk, so I did 2/3 recipe. I added an extra 1/2 tsp. cardamom. This was fantastic! 2: I used unsweetened finely grated coconut. It was plenty sweet - in fact, having tasted it, I think sweetened coconut would be too much. When I make it again (which I definitely will!), I'll use unsweetened coconut again. OK, questions: I did this on the stovetop - I am leary of the microwave for such things... maybe because of my microwave. I waited and waited for the coconut to bubble, but it did not, and since there is more solid than liquid in this recipe, it ended up scorching a bit, so I added a few TBSPs of milk.... the texture ended up possibly a bit sifter than traditional nariyal burfi... any suggestions as to how to correct this? Is the coconut supposed to be completely soft in the final result or would it still maintain some of it's texture? I'd like it a bit softer, but cooking it in the fudge recipe any longer would have really burned and scorched it. I am wondering if I could boil it to soften it a bit before cooking it with the condensed milk, or will i lose some of the coconut flavor if I do this? Thanks for the recipe and for any suggestions you may have. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'm rating this highly even though it didn't turn into fudge for me (more like sludge), because the flavor was so good. No idea how to actually get it to solidify, but best of luck to you! My house has been using its sludge as ice cream topping for the last week. Yum. I didn't have cardamom, so I seasoned with 1 tsp coriander powder, 1 tsp cinnamon and a sprinkle of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States