Quick Nariyal Burfi (Indian Coconut Fudge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe. I made some alterations though, so I only gave it 4 stars. I used unsweetened coconut, and I added ginger, not cardamon. I made these to give away for Christmas, and my relatives do not like cardamon. I also melted semi-sweet chocolate chips, with a little bit of butter, and I dipped the square blocks of cut burfi into the melted chocolate, and I let them set on a rack to dry, one side at a time. They looked good, and tasted great. My relatives liked them a lot. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I added the cardamom plus a dash of rose water. These turned out quick and moist--didn't have to change a thing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Wonderful, so easy and so good. While it is rich, it does not seem sinful. I think that I may try it with fat free sweetened condensed milk. Will let you know how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reg
Home Town: Prestonsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Not sure what happened here, I followed the recipe exactly but even after 24 hours this still had not firmed up. Such a shame as it looked delicious in the pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made this fudge for an Indian luncheon our Dinner Club was having and the other ladies just raved about it! I made it the night before and chilled it until about 30 minutes before serving. The cardamom is very strong if you only chill the fudge for the one hour the recipe calls for. I found that by making it a day ahead, the flavors had all blended nicely by serving time and the cardamom wasn't as over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made small round balls and flattened them a little and rolled them in confectionry sugar and pistachios. They are on the sweet side. They turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
very nice! super easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These were great until I added the cardamom - I guess I don't care for it. I may make again with no cardamom, or just a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This did not work for me at all and I followed the recipe to the letter. It was sticky and gooey and didn't set. Next time I'll just microwave it longer (or maybe not - the end result was fun!) If I had to rate it on the taste though, it would get 5 stars. I salvaged it by forming little balls and rolling them in chopped toasted almonds then dipping in white chocolate. They were yummy anyway and it was like a feeding frenzy around the dish when they were put out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States