Quick Nariyal Burfi (Indian Coconut Fudge) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wow, this was very popular! I did it a little differently and therefore I have some questions. 1: I didn't have enough condensed milk, so I did 2/3 recipe. I added an extra 1/2 tsp. cardamom. This was fantastic! 2: I used unsweetened finely grated coconut. It was plenty sweet - in fact, having tasted it, I think sweetened coconut would be too much. When I make it again (which I definitely will!), I'll use unsweetened coconut again. OK, questions: I did this on the stovetop - I am leary of the microwave for such things... maybe because of my microwave. I waited and waited for the coconut to bubble, but it did not, and since there is more solid than liquid in this recipe, it ended up scorching a bit, so I added a few TBSPs of milk.... the texture ended up possibly a bit sifter than traditional nariyal burfi... any suggestions as to how to correct this? Is the coconut supposed to be completely soft in the final result or would it still maintain some of it's texture? I'd like it a bit softer, but cooking it in the fudge recipe any longer would have really burned and scorched it. I am wondering if I could boil it to soften it a bit before cooking it with the condensed milk, or will i lose some of the coconut flavor if I do this? Thanks for the recipe and for any suggestions you may have. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'm rating this highly even though it didn't turn into fudge for me (more like sludge), because the flavor was so good. No idea how to actually get it to solidify, but best of luck to you! My house has been using its sludge as ice cream topping for the last week. Yum. I didn't have cardamom, so I seasoned with 1 tsp coriander powder, 1 tsp cinnamon and a sprinkle of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Not sure what happened here, I followed the recipe exactly but even after 24 hours this still had not firmed up. Such a shame as it looked delicious in the pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
sticky, did not set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I have never had Indian Burfi before, so maybe the texture is accurate for the dish. But I thought it was incredibly gooey, I could barely pick it up. On top of that, the flavor wasnt great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good, very rich. Not sure I am a fan of cardamon. I might mix half with and half without next time to see how I like it. I only used half the cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made this fudge for an Indian luncheon our Dinner Club was having and the other ladies just raved about it! I made it the night before and chilled it until about 30 minutes before serving. The cardamom is very strong if you only chill the fudge for the one hour the recipe calls for. I found that by making it a day ahead, the flavors had all blended nicely by serving time and the cardamom wasn't as over-powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy, Fast, and delicous. I only like coconut with certain desserts and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This did not work for me at all and I followed the recipe to the letter. It was sticky and gooey and didn't set. Next time I'll just microwave it longer (or maybe not - the end result was fun!) If I had to rate it on the taste though, it would get 5 stars. I salvaged it by forming little balls and rolling them in chopped toasted almonds then dipping in white chocolate. They were yummy anyway and it was like a feeding frenzy around the dish when they were put out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This recipe is so very good. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 tsp of cardamon. If they were dipped in choclate it would taste like a bounty bar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States