Quick Mix Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These are yummy. I made them with all butter, minus the almond extract (allergies). I also added red food colouring and made them into little heart cookies for the school Valentine's cake fair tomorrow. If they disappear as quickly as the tray I made for home testing, they will be a complete success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I tried three different recipes this year so far this is the only keeper. I had no problems except...I have six kids running around the kitchen and forgot to put sugar in the first test batch (only like 10 cookies) so I quickly added 1/2 cup sugar to the dough and they were just fine. update**I have now been using recipe for over a year and the quality ingredients you use makes the difference I use Pillsbury's best flour real butter 1/2 cup and butter flavored Crisco 1/2 cup I am trying to make some for Chistmas baskets but can't keep the hubby and kids out of them! My eggs also are already 1/4 cup so I just add a couple drops of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Use butter not shortening! Butter makes all of the difference, the cookie will have a nice texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm not usually a big fan of Spritz cookies. Most are pasty and lack impact. This version was not like that at all! The flavor out of the oven was fantastic and two days later they were crispy yet buttery and lovely with coffee or tea. I used butter flavored shortening, which I believe made a huge difference. Taste aside, I still don't like cookie presses - pan in the butt to clean and very fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made these with butter instead of shortening. They tasted fine, but the taste and texture wasn't worth the extra work of cutting in the butter. And I found the dough too sticky to work well in my cookie press. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Yum yum yum! I finally found the perfect Spritz recipe! Simple..and delicious! Only change I made was I used Butter flavored shortening. And added about 1/8 more flour because I live in Colorado and always make adjustments for the altitude. I colored half the batch with Forest Green gel food coloring..and they looked awesome! THX for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Loved the cookies! Very easy to make! I made them green and decorated with mini m&m's, they looked so pretty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great!! Made them over Christmas and now everyone in my house wants more! Make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Recipe was good. I don't like the the instructions on the cookies. I highly suggest baking them for about 7-8 minutes instead of 10. Mine browned on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It turned out too dry to use in the cookie press. After I added 1/4 cup water, it worked better but still I had a hard time getting the cookies out of the press. My hand will never be the same! Once made, they tasted very good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States