Quick Mix Spritz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm not usually a big fan of Spritz cookies. Most are pasty and lack impact. This version was not like that at all! The flavor out of the oven was fantastic and two days later they were crispy yet buttery and lovely with coffee or tea. I used butter flavored shortening, which I believe made a huge difference. Taste aside, I still don't like cookie presses - pan in the butt to clean and very fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made these with butter instead of shortening. They tasted fine, but the taste and texture wasn't worth the extra work of cutting in the butter. And I found the dough too sticky to work well in my cookie press. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Yum yum yum! I finally found the perfect Spritz recipe! Simple..and delicious! Only change I made was I used Butter flavored shortening. And added about 1/8 more flour because I live in Colorado and always make adjustments for the altitude. I colored half the batch with Forest Green gel food coloring..and they looked awesome! THX for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Loved the cookies! Very easy to make! I made them green and decorated with mini m&m's, they looked so pretty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great!! Made them over Christmas and now everyone in my house wants more! Make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Recipe was good. I don't like the the instructions on the cookies. I highly suggest baking them for about 7-8 minutes instead of 10. Mine browned on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It turned out too dry to use in the cookie press. After I added 1/4 cup water, it worked better but still I had a hard time getting the cookies out of the press. My hand will never be the same! Once made, they tasted very good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Superb! I used butter flavored shortening and everything else the same. They are delicious and have great texture: soft and delicate and they melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olivia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very good. I made these for a holiday gathering, and they are great! I substituted Maple Extract for the Almond Extract, and everyone loved it! Like I said, Very Easy, Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
the cookies taste like shortning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States