Quick Microwave Frittata Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Whenever there are frozen hash browns (of any kind) in the house, I try to make this for breakfast. It is easily scaled for one and takes so little time to put together. If I don't have the parsley, I just omit it; don't bother with the dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Not bad. Good base, as others said. I cooked the onions a few before adding the rest since I like onions cooked, not just heated. 'Should've put the potatoes in there, too. They weren't raw, but a little underdone in the end. I did high for three. Medium for three. Medium for three. Then let rest covered to finish cooking. I mixed in the cheese before covering. It's hot enough to melt it without overcooking the eggs. Dry eggs are not a good thing. A take it or leave it dish for this house. Oh, it feeds more than four - double that. May do the "wrap in a flour tortilla trick" for braakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NJladi
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Not having made a frittata in the microwave before, I thought this was a good basic recipe to try, adding my own touches. Since there are just my two of us, I used 5 extra large eggs; diced half an Idaho potato and sautéed it with green onion and a touch of garlic; then sautéed diced mushrooms - setting aside extra for a topping at the end; I then added some sautéed diced Black Forrest ham, mixed the lot into the whipped egg; cut in a little Cheddar and Jack cheeses, covered the dish and set the timer for 3 minutes. I then uncovered the dish, spread on some Pico de Gallo (fresh salsa), added more cheese on top; covered the dish again and microwaved an additional 3 minutes (full power, 1100 watts) until done. I let it rest for 5 minutes, topped with the remaining mushrooms and served. It came out just right, not dry or wet, and delicious. Frittatas are great for experimentation. A nice glass of white wine was the perfect finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
The cooking time is way too long for a 1,000 watt microwave, and I even took it out early. I had to use bacon instead of ham, it was really salty, but that's my own fault. I will not make this recipe again, but try another recipe for microwave frittata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this recipe. I'm not usually a fan of microwave recipes, but this is very good. The carrots and parsley make for a very pretty presentation, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was tasty and quick. I served it rolled in flour tortillas. A hit with picky kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I'm not much of a breakfast person, but this was pretty good. My one year old will hardly ever eat eggs and I thought she was gonna make herself sick from eating so much! We used regular mustard b/c I didn't have any dry on hand. It was ok with ham, but I think sausage would be better. Next time we will try sausage with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
If you like to sleep in on the weekends, but don't want to starve your family by making them wait for an hour or more while your casserole cooks, this recipe is for you! I have never cooked eggs in the microwave before, so I was a little skeptical...but this came out really good! I think the only thing I might do differently next time is sautee the onion first for a little sweetness. Well, I might also add more cheese into the mixture (but we LOVE cheese). This is a very good base recipe that has plenty of room for experimentation. -Try serving with a sliced tomato...mmm! Thanks for a quick and tasty brunch, Sunedan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
very good! gonna try it with sausage next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Very good, and so easy. I didn't have fresh parsley or onions so I used a little onion powder and dried parsley. It was great. Sprinkled it with Tabasco sauce. We loved it. Will definitely make it again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States