Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I actually made these in small loaf pans and gave them away as gifts for Christmas. It was great! So simple and everyone loved them. I also glazed them with a simple recipe I found on here. 1/4 orange juice, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract. I warmed it on the stove until the sugar melted then poured it over the top of the cakes while they were still hot. So gooooood!!! P.S. If you are looking for "BREAD" like you find in the store, this isn't it. This is more of a cake, like banana bread isn't bread, its cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arbuckle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I've made this same recipe but in a bundt pan and served it as a cake. It's nice and sweet, more cakelike than breadlike. I took the leftovers to work, and my secretary went ga-ga over it. I do use a glaze after letting the cake cool for 15 minutes. The glaze is 5 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/4 butter brought to a boil in a saucepan and drizzled over the cake while hot. It's very good and doesn't taste like it came from a cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This cake/bread is great! Whenever I make it, it's gone in a day or two, and it's so easier. I make an easy glaze for it too. 1 tbsp lemon juice or milk, and about 1/2 cup powered sugar. I keep adding powered sugar or lemon juice until I get it to a thick enough consistency for a glaze. I usually make this in a bread pan and flip it onto a plate and then dump the glaze on. It's easy, fast, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This is EASY and fabulous! Very moist and flavorful. Everyone wants the recipe. Keeps very well, too, if you can manage to hide it!! I did make some changes. First, I used 1/3 cup of oil, the juice of one lemon with water added to make one cup total(rather than plain water) to make it more lemony, and I took the zest from that lemon and chopped it finely and added it to the batter. Finally, I baked it in a bundt pan, and after baking, added glaze made from lemon juice and powdered sugar. This all just kicks the lemon flavor up a notch (to borrow a phrase).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe was easy and delicious! I changed it up a little bit. Since I didn't have any poppyseeds, I used dried sweetened cranberries (cut up into small bits). I also made them as muffins (cooked for 20 minutes). YUMMY, Lemon Cranberry Muffins! Turned out great and everyone loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
I've used this recipe three times with great results. It took me longer to bake than the recipe suggests, but that could be because of my oven. A nice touch is to add a 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This turned out great. I baked it in a 9x13in pan because the top is my favorite part. It took 35min. to bake. I didn't add any glaze or anything because this stands on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I made this for holiday gifts It was easy and very moist. I already had a almond poppy seed cake so I left out the seeds. I told people it was a secret recipe when they asked for the recipe. ;-) It was that easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Gustafson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I get great compliments on this bread every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Have made this twice now, and both times I baked them in my bundt pan. It's very moist, and the perfect amount of poppy seeds. I made this the first time as directed, and the second time I made two changes. I used only 1/3 cup oil (didn't affect the moistness of the cake at all) and I added a pinch of ground cloves and a teaspoon of cinnamon, to subdue the lemon flavor. It was still lemony when it was baked, but the spices gave it a much more home-made taste, in my opinion - less of that 'lemon-cake-mix' flavor. You can't taste the cinnamon - it just creates a more complex flavor. I'll be adding the spices from now on, but this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States