Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Wow! This is an easy recipe and very delicious. I made it for a breakfast this morning and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I actually made these in small loaf pans and gave them away as gifts for Christmas. It was great! So simple and everyone loved them. I also glazed them with a simple recipe I found on here. 1/4 orange juice, 3/4 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract. I warmed it on the stove until the sugar melted then poured it over the top of the cakes while they were still hot. So gooooood!!! P.S. If you are looking for "BREAD" like you find in the store, this isn't it. This is more of a cake, like banana bread isn't bread, its cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arbuckle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I sooooo hate to be the bearer of bad new bug GAG! I am sorry this tasted nothing like bread at all. Cake sure it would have need some tweeking but if you are expecting a bread like taste or texture this would not be the recipe for you. I am sorry but even the cooking time was way off I even tried to make some as cupcakes and they fell like rocks.?? I try to use the best of ingredents this just fell very short in my book. sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Sorry, but the one time I made this bread it was nothing like what everyone raves about. Just OK and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I served this in a 9x13 pan as a cake with a buttercream frosting. Delicious, quick, simple. Great as a bread, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I've made this recipe several times. It always turns out great. I also use this recipe to make muffins for the kids for breakfast. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This recipe is truly amazing. I have made it many times and everytime it is wonderful. It is easy to make and stays moist for days. If I don't have poppy seeds, I like to add frozen cranberries to the batter. Everytime I make it, I have to double the recipe because it goes so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I had to make it without the poppy seeds. I made 1 loaf and mini muffins and regular size muffins with the remaining batter. It was a hit. I got 2 pieces, bui the rest got gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsqueaky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
So easy that I'm not sure it even qualifies as baking, and very, very good. The only change I made to the recipe was to add a tsp of lemon extract. Next time, I think I'll add some lemon zest, too, and maybe a lemon glaze (I like my lemon bread to be nice and tart). I did have to cook this for about 15 minutes longer than the listed time, though that may be my oven. This recipe shot to the top of my "quick, easy, and amazing" list, the kind of thing you can whip up almost any day, no matter how hectic. Both loaves went so fast that I hardly had time to snag a piece for myself before it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I bake mine in mini bundt pans & they are great for entertaining i.e. brunch, breakfast for overnight guests, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States