Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The BIGGEST hit I've made from allrecipes.com so far! I made this for Thanksgiving morning, and it was gone the morning after. I made it as a Bundt cake, it came out great. For the glaze I used 1 cup powdered sugar and then squeezed a lemon into the sugar until it formed a glaze, and grated the lemon rind to make it SO flavorful! My family likes a lot of glaze :) You can use 1/2 cup powdered sugar if you want less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Oh yeah!!! I was trying to figure out how to make the same kind of bread that my grandma makes - and this is it!!! The recipe was enough to make two loafs in a 5x9 pan - so I gave one loaf as a gift. It took about 20 minutes longer in my oven - but turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohalika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've made this recipe twice and everyone loved it. It took a little longer to bake than the directions said, and I added about 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Delicious and easy! This will definitely be one of my go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is so easy and so delicious!! It definitely takes longer to cook than stated on the recipe, but it turns out great. I debated on adding a glaze like so many reviewers suggested, but it doesn't need it! It is great on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I made them in small tins and it made 7 of my small tins. I made them for our church's welcome bread. Very easy also, one of the best quick breads I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Loved it! Very light and fluffy. It would be good on it's own, but I opted to make a glaze for it. I mixed together powdered sugar, orange juice, lemon juice, vanilla and almond extract. I then poked holes in the bread and poured the glaze over it and spread it out with a spatula. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Tested recipe for a bridal shower and it is a KEEPER. Instead of the 1 C of water. I used 1/2 C of Real Lemon Juice and 1/2 C of water. I added about 1 teaspoon of pure lemon extract to the water and lemon juice before putting it into the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I make this recipe with yellow cake mix and instant vanilla pudding. Another tip I received from my aunt who's been making this for years, is to make sure the water is hot. This recipe is a sure hit and always gets rave reviews! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Make recipe exactly as is. This is a cake bread, or "quick bread." It is excellent and was the hit dessert at a BBQ! I did a glaze of 1 1/2 T Orange juice, 1 1/2 tsp. Lemon juice and powdered sugar. Pour over while bread is still warm. Let cool and cut into slices and serve. Make this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
so good!!!! love it, I added the juice of a lemon to the water for extra lemon flavor. so easy, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States