Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
made two ways. one with water and another with lemon/lime juice. The one with juice was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. Modifications I made: - 1/2cup oil = 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce - 1 pkg lemon pudding mix = 1 pkg vanilla pudding mix (no lemon pudding available) - 1 cup water = 3/4 cup water + juice of 2 freshly squeezed lemons I also added fresh finely grinded lemon zest and a bit more poppy seed. To give it an extra kick, I layered almond slices on top of the bread for the last 3-5 minutes of baking time to give it a nutty crust. Overall, this cake/bread is good because it is extremely moist, not too sweet and a really great simple foundation for a wide variety of modifications you can use to "spice" it up - a cream cheese frosting, a glaze etc etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Easy, quick, refreshing. I like to make these into muffins and put them in cupcake liners. Bake for 18-20 minutes. I put some in the freezer to grab and go with. We enjoy for breakfast or a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very good. Put them in sprayed muffin tins. Let sit for 20 min before putting in oven. Otherwise first batch will be flat, second fluffy & puffy. Could use more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is an excellent lemon poppy seed bread recipe. I didn't change a thing - don't mess with perfection! I've served this to company twice as a side dish to Chicken Pasta Salad and was asked for the recipe both times. Thanks for a great recipe Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Super easy, super moist, super good. Used 3/4 C water and 1/4 C lemon juice for extra flavor. Could have used more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Easy and so good! I took the tip from another reviewer and have been making this recipe in mini-loaf pans (makes 5), and baking them for 35-40 minutes. I also glaze them while warm with 1 TB of lemon juice mixed with 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Great for bake sales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These are so good! I made them exactly as written but made 24 muffins instead of 2 loaves. They are moist and very lemony (but not over-powering). Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very yummy and very easy. Ended up cooking for a total of 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Duncan Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Our neighbor "God bless him" is a fireman. He just call about the loaf I sent with him to the fire house. They are taking up a collection to pay me to make more. He just wanted to warn me.lol I told them to keep the money I would love to make more for them. It was too easy to make came out just right,and the taste. How could a whole shift of fireman be wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States