Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have made this delicious recipe several times. It's embarrassingly easy and everyone LOVES it! I cut down on the poppy seeds due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have been making this recipe for several years and I always get rave reviews. I have made loaves, mini loaves and muffins. They always come out moist and delicious. I made lemon poppyseed muffins today and my son asked if I would make chocolate chip muffins too. I followed the recipe but used a vanilla cake mix and vanilla pudding mix. I added chocolate chips and topped the muffins with a cinnamon-sugar mixture before popping them in the oven. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Love this bread! I made one loaf and some muffins to send with my son to college. I have to say, I think the muffins cooked up better. Bread had to cook longer than directions indicated for the center to get done. Which made the crust a little darker than I prefer. But I could have had too much batter in the pan for one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I always mix some confectioner's sugar, milk and lemon juice and drizzle over the bread for even more lemon flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These were so good! And simple! I had everything but the pudding mix in my kitchen! I took the advice of another reviewer and added 4 tsps. lemon juice and filled the rest of the 1 cup with water. the second time around i finely chopped almond slivers and sprinkled a chopped almond/sugar mixture on the tops...awesome!!! My husband and I had almond poppyseed muffins on our honeymoon and they were great, we've been bringing them up ever since so this was a nice recipe to reminisce with. I think next time instead of the lemon juice i'll use almond extract with the water and do the chopped almonds in the whole batch! For us that makes this 5 stars!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook-aholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I have made this as my parents' anniversary cake for the last few years. They love it! This cake is so flavorful and perfect to slice and freeze leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I prefer a less-sweet cake and a lemon glaze: sub 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice for water in cake. Add some lemon zest. When cool, make glaze of lemon juice, water, pow. sugar, and if desired, lemon zest. We have tons of lemons which I zest and juice then freeze to use the rest of the year. Granted, if you don't have it on hand, this is quite lovely and adaptable (diff mixes, nuts, fruits.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
take out a quater cup (or so) of water..and substitute lemon juice...more pucker power...throw in some fresh lemon jest too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb in the 'Dax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansingburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Girlyone123
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This went over very well in the office, colleagues said it was better than the one they were buying at the local coffee shop which they were previously all addicted too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlyone123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I've made this bread now for 3 different occasions and all have received rave reviews. Adults and children alike love this bread. I've baked large loaves, mini loaves, mini muffins, oversized muffins and bundt and all have turned out great. Last time I dropped a teaspoon of lemon oil in and I think it intensified the lemon flavor a bit. I use my kitchen aid mixer and mix med-high for 2-3 minutes. Highly recommended for summer gatherings of all kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by detack@charter.net

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States