Quick Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was delicious, but I agree- I added a few things to make it a bit more flavorful. I added some pesto, corn, fresh basil and left out the cabbage. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Really great and easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great soup after some doctoring, but kind of bland as stated. I added 2 cubes of boullion (the big kind that makes 2 cups of broth) and it still was too bland for me, so I added about a cup of chicken broth and that did the trick. I didn't have any cabbage so I added baby spinach, I added a yellow squash, and a can of chickpeas. GREAT SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
excellent!!! used yellow squash in place of zuchinni and added dashes of grated parm. cheese when we ate it. super great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Exactly what I wanted for dinner tonight. I sauteed ½ an onion, 2 carrots, no celery, and a can of sliced mushrooms in about a tablespoon of bacon grease. I poured the can of tomatoes, 1 TBS Italian seasoning, 2 tsp beef bouillon and 5 cups water in my 3-quart slow cooker set on low. When the veggies were tender, I added them to the slow cooker with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a can of garbanzo beans. I let it cook for around three hours, and then I set the cooker to high and added 1 sliced zucchini and about a cup of broccoli florets. I let it cook for another hour, then added about a cup of seashell pasta. 30 minutes later, it was done! I used the emersion blender to puree a little of it to thicken it somewhat, and it was fabulous with shredded cheddar and a teaspoon of plain yogurt. Thanks for sharing, Peach822!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Loved it! What a great base for veggie soup. I left out the celery, but added some kidney beans, potatoes and a can of tomato sauce. Soooo good. I think I'll try some crumbled cooked ground beef next! That would make a hearty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really tasty soup base. I did add beef to mine, and used chicken broth instead of beef bouillon, but that was a pantry substitute...and we like a little meat in our "vegie" soups.// a year later...tried again, as written by submitter...good even without the meat. It does lend itself to tweaking. Can be served over rice or have some kind of pasta added to it for a more stick-to-your-ribs version. Ah, yes, even pulled ribs in this sea of vegetable goodness, would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
So wonderful... makes me wish that it was cold all year long just so I could make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I thought this soup was great, and very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was excellent ... made it for lunch when our daughter and fiance came up for a day as we were going out to dinner and I wanted to serve something light for lunch. It was purrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I make this one for frozen lunches. The parmesan adds the extra tasty surprise. This soup is easy to make, especially with a mandoline. It reheats perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNDREGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States