Quick Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was very tastey. I think everyone makes soup recipes there own, these are the changes I made. I added pressed garlic for the last 2-3 min of the onion, celery, carrot mixture. It still needed something at the end, so I added a roasted garlic and red pepper seasoning. This was great by itself, but when you add the shredded parmesan it takes it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Really good!! Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love this soup! Like a previous poster I added a can of rinsed kidney beans, and some cooked shell macaroni to make it heartier. I also added a small can of tomato paste, used beef broth instead of bouillon as I didn't have any on hand, and added some hot sauce because we like spicy. I guess as some say that means it is not the original but it's my variation/2cents. I keep some of this in my freezer now to thaw for quick meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I guess I expected too much based on the reviews. I found this recipe extremely bland even though I doubled the seasoning. Even the parmesan did not help the flavor. Sorry, I just did not enjoy this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great flavor! I do suggest using real shredded parmesan on top, as it has much better flavor comparitively speaking. Next time, I will add cannellini or red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Sadly I didn't have cabbage, but bock choy work just as good. Came out real yummy. Don't forget to add some Parm Chesse on top. I also paired it with grilled chesse sandwiches. Cant beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great recipe, Instead of 6 cups of water. I used 4 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water & 1 cup of tomato juice. I also added 1/1 a tsp of thyme. I also let it simmer for about an hour to ensure the vegetables got cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We LOVE this recipe...its easy, healthy, and flavorful. It made its way into our rotation! One thing is that it says to use two bouillon cubes, but be sure to check the bottle and see how much water each cube will flavor. Each of my cubes would only flavor 1 cup of water so the soup turned out very bland...then i realized i needed to add more cubes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was delicious, but I agree- I added a few things to make it a bit more flavorful. I added some pesto, corn, fresh basil and left out the cabbage. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Really great and easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great soup after some doctoring, but kind of bland as stated. I added 2 cubes of boullion (the big kind that makes 2 cups of broth) and it still was too bland for me, so I added about a cup of chicken broth and that did the trick. I didn't have any cabbage so I added baby spinach, I added a yellow squash, and a can of chickpeas. GREAT SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States