Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This soup is fantastic! Very easy to prepare. I had a difficult time finding the black-eyed peas in a can. I looked at three stores and was about to buy a bag of dried black-eyed peas (finally the last store at least had them that way) when I remembered a reviewer said they bought them frozen. The store did have them frozen (thank you Joe G. because I would not have even thought to look in the frozen foods). I prepared them the way the bag said, drained them, and then added them to my soup. I also took the advice of viewers and added onion and celery to the sausage while it was cooking, about ½ cup each. My sausage was just regular sausage so I just added sage to it while it cooked. I used Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice mix and did not think the end result needed any added salt. My whole family liked this soup. We had never had black-eyed peas before, but we all liked them. I think this soup would also be great with spinach or kale dropped in the last few minutes of cooking and will probably try it that way the next time I make it – and there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Loved this last year and have been looking forward to making up a big pot for New Years! This combines all the things that I love. I think it has some wiggle room to change per taste. Overall a great recipe and perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Quick prep, easy to make, few ingredients, and it tastes great. Even Mr. Picky had seconds. I made no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
delicious and so easy! We used pork kielbasa diced up and browned. Delicious with Tony's Creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Wonderful, quick soup! I used sliced smoked sausage instead of the sage pork sausage (don't like sage), and only one can of diced tomatoes. I also added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, to make more of a stew like texture. Excellent flavor, quick and easy to assemble - this recipe will be one of my regulars! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Nice and tasty for the amount of effort involved. I used some homemade wild hog sage sausage, and used 1 can of hot rotel tomatoes and peppers instead of 2 cans of tomatoes. Good wintertime meal. Really wish I had made some cornbread......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
first time i made this i rated it a 3 then we ate the leftovers the next night and it was 100 times better. made it again last saturday, threw it in the fridge then reheated it and served it sunday. totally the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This soup was execellent I made it for New Years and again after everyone liked it and wanted the recipe. Only thing I did different was add my favorite HOT salsa for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Loved this and I usually hate black-eyed peas. We used Smoked Turkey Sausage and added some sage rather than using the pork. Will definitely make after New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I love this recipe. I added one more can of black-eyed peas just to make it a little thicker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citronelle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montevallo, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States