Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was such a great EASY meal for a cold January night. Served it with a loaf of French bread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was so easy and so good. I made some changes though. I used one medium onion, chopped. Instead of using 4 cans of black-eyed beans, I used 1 can of red beans, 1 can of Pink and 1 can of black-eyed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Mccloud, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really delicious! The only change I made was to use 2 boxes of long grain/ wild rice mix, because the brand I used (Farmhouse) was only 4 ounces. It ended up thick and hearty, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. Since my family does not eat pork we substituted the sausage for turkey kiebalsa. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent soup!!!!! I used turkey sausage (mild, b/c the store was out of hot - so I added hot pepper flakes) and browned that with celery, onion and garlic. Subbed Rotel for one can of tomatoes. Spiced it up with a bay leaf and a bit of Emeril's "essence." My daughter (a professed soup-hater) LOVED it and even my son (hates beans) ate about half a bowl. I would have kept eating and eating it if I hadn't gotten full! I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Not typically a fan of black eyed peas but will eat them on New Year's Day. Loved this, however, and will likely make it again during the year! Made it pretty much the way it is stated, except I used diced tomatoes with green peppers and chilies for a little extra kick. My husband and two year old loved it, too! Served it with some spicy southwest cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4carolinas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Yummy! I followed directions, but only used one can of blackeyed peas and a large can of stewed tomatoes. I didn't have any sausage...so boiled some chicken (used wings since that's all I had)...kept that chicken water to add the can of chicken broth to..then cooled chicken and took it off the bone. Cooked everything else as directed and added chicken at end. Wish I had been more prepared 'cause corn bread with it as many reviewers did, sounds perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was awesome! I added more of the chicken broth than what was called for, as the rice tends to absorb most of the liquid. I also tossed in a "few" flakes of crushed red pepper to give it some kick. Loved it, and was even better the next day, although it was more the consistency of a stew vs soup. Still very yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight with the left over Black-eyed Peas from New Years ... IT IS AMAZING!! EASY and DELICIOUS!! I did use one can of Rotel Tomatoes to give it a tiny kick. And I had made a whole pound of peas - so I used two boxes of Wild Rice. Anyone should adjust your proportions accordingly. And yes, as others have said - you can add just about anything you want to this. I've never made this dish - always heard of it - I WILL BE MAKING THIS RECIPE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight. Absolutely fantastic! It was fast, easy and my BF devoured two helpings. There are leftovers and I am looking forward to eating this for lunch tomorrow. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States