Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very GOOOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this the other day even though I don't really like black peas my husband loves them. And after reading reviews from other people that don't care for them I thought maybe this would be something we could both enjoy. I was right we both liked it I even sent it to my sister-in-law in Tx. It is quick,easy and tasty. The only change was to use smoked turkey sausage instead of the sage pork sausage. I will make it again and I think I'll add diced carrots just because I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Thought this sounded a little bland, but was extremely surprised at how tasty it was! Leftovers were just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Desmarais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was really good and very easy. Only change I made was cut the recipe in 1/2 added 2 cans broth but no water and 3oz of okra. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is SO good! I added one large carrot(sliced), 1 cup chopped green bell pepper and about 1.5 cups shredded green cabbage, just for extra veggies. I had mild sausage without sage so I added 1.5 tsp. of thyme in place of the sage. Served with cornbread. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent flavor and very easy to make. I also cooked the sausage with celery and onions like others did. Recipe as written makes a lot, but I wanted leftovers. Tasted even better the next day. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
i thought this was to simple, never heard of hoppin john. but had all the stuff on hand to make it. so here we go. it turned out great. i think this could have a lot of recipes with just a little messing around. very hardy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is fantastic!!!!!!!!! And so quick. Will be in my work lunches all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was great - very tasty and easy. I will make this again, probably with more hot sauce because there was not enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States