Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Made it by the recipe. Didn't care for it but my friend born and bred in Texas loved it. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is the best! I was looking for something different than the same old blackeyed peas and rice. This recipe fit the bill. I used one 28oz can of crushed tomatoes as this is what was in the cupboard then omitted the water and salt. Also did not add any additional seasonings. The end result had a stew consistency that set off the Southern Collards (from allrecipes) and pan-fried cornbread. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
What a wonderful recipe! I used leftover honey ham and also added red, green & yellow peppers, onions, and flavored canned tomatoes. In addition to the salt, I seasoned with accent and lawry's seasoning. As a side, I baked cornbread. A very hearty meal that we will definitely use again ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great black-eyed pea recipe for New Year's! I've been making this for 4 years now and never have any leftovers. Added some green pepper, celery and some red pepper flakes and serve on top of cornbreag when finished with a side of turnip greens and your set for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Thomas
Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I really like Hoppin' John so tried this soup on my family and served Mexican cornbread with it and they all loved it! Even the teenagers! So several different ones wanted the recipe. We liked it so much I will probably make it again New Year's day for our annual meal of black eye peas, cabbage, pork jowl and ribs. It was super easy and I went exactly by the recipe; the only thing it needs is a good shake of hot sauce. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkesville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
It's that time of the year down here and this recipe is on my stove to be ready for Tuesday. Match it with the Kickin' Collard Greens SUBMITTED BY: Ken Adams in AllRecipes and some cornbread and NO ONE will know you're not from down here (until you say 'Thank You').
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domestically impaired

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
well, this was different then what i thought, but it was great!! Very hearty on a cold day. Nice change to the same ole soups. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
SOOOOO good we make this all the time. I use pinto beans and add a few shakes of hot sauce to the pot while cooking and top with mozzarella cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
4.5 stars. Great winter soup & one-pot meal. I tweaked it by first sauteing half an onion and half a bell pepper, then using a package of spicy chicken sausage. The diced tomatoes I used had garlic/onion. Also, instead of rice I used Trader Joe's spelt flavored with bell peppers (cooks like rice but nuttier with more protein), and instead of black-eyed peas I used chickpeas. I also had to add some water intermittently to keep it soupy. Thanks for this easy & tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
delicious and hearty! i will definitely make this over and over again. this family does not eat black eyed peas nor do we celebrate the new year but we loved it. i used the sage sausage and added eckrich smoked sausage as well, and a can of spinach. only used 1 can of black eyed peas instead of 2 and added 1 extra 14 oz can of tomato sauce and 1 can of water (to offset the saltiness that the smoked sausage gave to the soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States