Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
It's that time of the year down here and this recipe is on my stove to be ready for Tuesday. Match it with the Kickin' Collard Greens SUBMITTED BY: Ken Adams in AllRecipes and some cornbread and NO ONE will know you're not from down here (until you say 'Thank You').
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domestically impaired

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
well, this was different then what i thought, but it was great!! Very hearty on a cold day. Nice change to the same ole soups. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
SOOOOO good we make this all the time. I use pinto beans and add a few shakes of hot sauce to the pot while cooking and top with mozzarella cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
4.5 stars. Great winter soup & one-pot meal. I tweaked it by first sauteing half an onion and half a bell pepper, then using a package of spicy chicken sausage. The diced tomatoes I used had garlic/onion. Also, instead of rice I used Trader Joe's spelt flavored with bell peppers (cooks like rice but nuttier with more protein), and instead of black-eyed peas I used chickpeas. I also had to add some water intermittently to keep it soupy. Thanks for this easy & tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
delicious and hearty! i will definitely make this over and over again. this family does not eat black eyed peas nor do we celebrate the new year but we loved it. i used the sage sausage and added eckrich smoked sausage as well, and a can of spinach. only used 1 can of black eyed peas instead of 2 and added 1 extra 14 oz can of tomato sauce and 1 can of water (to offset the saltiness that the smoked sausage gave to the soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I used 16 oz of frozen okra instead of tomatoes and 7 oz Healthy Choice smoked sausage instead of the pork sausage. It is wonderful!! Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt purple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
2 years after first trying this recipie, I'm updating my review, but keeping the 5 star rating! This has become a staple recipie at our house - almost every week in cold or cool weather. It is SO easy to tweek & very forgiving : I've forgotten the water, used only water because no broth on hand, added & substituted link sausage, ham, barley, seasonings, various veggies, etc., doubled & tripled it & it ALWAYS turns out DELICIOUS! We often make this after work-done in 30 min. or less, or on days off I let it cook low & slow & it gets almost stew like. It's also a frequent request for work pot lucks (between this & 'clone of a cinnabon' also from AllRecipies-which, btw makes a nice companion/dessert with the Hoppin' John). If you have any left over it re-heats nicely as well(I have to make a double batch to have left overs) If friends know I'm making this, they've been known to invite themselves over for dinner, too!. I still can't thank you enough for this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
excellent. we will make this again. a real comfort soup for a cold winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was, as the name suggests, very quick! It was very tasty; everyone liked it, even the picky eater. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
this was absolutely fantastic!! really filling and flavorful! I, like many other reviewers, opted for spicy italian sausage and also added both onions and celery to the mix, which really added a lot of taste and body to the soup. The spicy sausage with this recipe is just a perfect pairing; I'd highly suggest it! And also, Uncle Ben's has a quick long-grain & wild rice that comes in a box w/ seasoning and it's really inexpensive...I noticed people saying they couldn't find this rice with the seasoning, but I'm just telling you all- it's out there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States