Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good base recipe! Used a few reviewers suggestions. Made with Turkey kielbasa sliced and cut into quarters, sliced deli ham cut up, 1 can each black-eyed peas and pinto beans, 1 can each diced tomatoes and diced tomatoes with chilies. Sauteed 1/2 a medium chopped onion with sausage in EVOO and pat butter until tender. Hubby thought it was a bit spicy, but still went back for a second bowl! Will try to make with a bit less spice next time. Great served with Grandma's Best cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I almost gave it 5 stars for how good this is compared to how easy it is to make, however, the overall taste doesn't rank up there with the best soups ever. It is still good and worth making. Update: I made this again for 2011 New Years and changed it bit which made it better. I sauted onions with the sausage and finely chopped celery. Served topped with shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was a very easy soup to prepare and as another reviewer said, it's even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good base recipe. We used 1 can of Pinto Beans and 1 can of Black eyed peas, because it was what we had. 2 bags of frozen rice from another entree and added Chicken Jalapeno Sausage from Trader Joe's. Delicious! Made enough for a 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
great base recipe....i used keilbasa and added collards and couldn't tell you the number of compliments I got . Served it in my restaurant and will definitely use it again...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Made this today...perfect for a cold day. I added 2 cans of pinto beans, used 2 lbs of sage sausage, 2 T of minced onion. Certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very easy...I used leftover hoppin john from new year's day. Added 1 can of tomatoes, frozen chopped kale and some creole seasoning to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this is good! i added creole season,because thats all it needed. oh yeah and a spoon(LOL). enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I was wondering what I was going to do with the can of black eyed peas that I had in the cupboard and came across this recipe. Since I only had one can I also used one can of Kidney Beans. I decided to use about 3/4 lb of Kielbasa which I had in the frezzer and I needed to use it up, I also added some chopped lunchmeat ham I had in fridge, some bacon which I had cooked this morning,and at the very end I was preparing some Lasasgna and added some of the seasoned ground meat that I was using for the lasagna. I didn't use the seasoned rice I used jasmine (FAMILY FAV) and added two packages of sazon and 1 package of ham seasoning. I used one can of rotel tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos. I added some sofrito and black pepper, garlic powder, and I also sauted onions and celery with the kielbasa and ham, I used chicken broth and a little water only to thin it out a bit. I made cornbread to go with it... and served some freshly grated mozzarella on top.... This was so yummy and everyone enjoyed it! My husband had 3 bowls!!! My son and his friend gobbled it up too! This is a great recipe which can be adapted to almost any beans etc. Thanx for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was delicious! I made no changes and my husband I both thought it was amazing! Great way to bring in the new year. May have the little bit of leftovers for breakfast! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States