Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was so easy to make, and the result was absolutely delicious. I will be making this every New Year's Day! I even froze some of the leftovers, and they reheated pretty well. I recommend pairing with some good cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good made exactly like stated. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i liked it but my family liked it more than me. I almost made it a rissotto consistency ...pretty darn good, filling, and easy to make. Couldnt find sage sausage so I just added my own sage..probably more since I love it. Interesting taste..very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This will become a family favorite, for sure! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good base recipe! Used a few reviewers suggestions. Made with Turkey kielbasa sliced and cut into quarters, sliced deli ham cut up, 1 can each black-eyed peas and pinto beans, 1 can each diced tomatoes and diced tomatoes with chilies. Sauteed 1/2 a medium chopped onion with sausage in EVOO and pat butter until tender. Hubby thought it was a bit spicy, but still went back for a second bowl! Will try to make with a bit less spice next time. Great served with Grandma's Best cornbread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I almost gave it 5 stars for how good this is compared to how easy it is to make, however, the overall taste doesn't rank up there with the best soups ever. It is still good and worth making. Update: I made this again for 2011 New Years and changed it bit which made it better. I sauted onions with the sausage and finely chopped celery. Served topped with shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was a very easy soup to prepare and as another reviewer said, it's even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good base recipe. We used 1 can of Pinto Beans and 1 can of Black eyed peas, because it was what we had. 2 bags of frozen rice from another entree and added Chicken Jalapeno Sausage from Trader Joe's. Delicious! Made enough for a 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
great base recipe....i used keilbasa and added collards and couldn't tell you the number of compliments I got . Served it in my restaurant and will definitely use it again...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Made this today...perfect for a cold day. I added 2 cans of pinto beans, used 2 lbs of sage sausage, 2 T of minced onion. Certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States