Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent! It was quick to prepare and would be easy to do after work for a warm dinner on a cold night. My husband declared it a success and asked to have it again. I think it would be good with chopped smoked sausage, too. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have sage sausage. Our FFA kids sell Blue and Gold Sausage, and that's what I had on hand. Goood job, Nephi. I'll watch for your name on recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This received rave reviews when I served it this New Years! I always have black eyed peas for good luck, but I've always hated them. Thank you for offering this delicious alternative. (I pureed the diced tomatoes but only because I have a friend who won't eat cooked tomatoes. Still great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This soup is sooooo good! I followed the recipe exactly except for I decided to add some cayenne pepper to add some heat. My husband said " oh honey this recipe is a keeper". It is so simple to make & yet tastes to much more complicated. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I teach a basic nutrition education program designed for limited resource families, and I was looking for a good, easy and inexpensive hoppin john recipe for New Year's. Several groups have done this recipe, both as written and with additions of Chorizo sausage, Old Bay Seasoning, and leftover honey baked ham. Even people who do not eat black-eyed peas rave about this recipe. For those with problems with black-eyed peas, any other bean would work well. It's a great recipe as is, or as a base for a very creative cook. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
clairely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Quick, easy and the family loved it! Even my picky teenaged daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This soup is excellent! I made one change and omitted the tomatoes. The black eyed peas I used came seasoned and were very good in this soup. It will become a family favorite! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Excellent soup! Very tasty, filling & easy to make. No extra salt needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Quick, easy, and filling with nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I cut this recipe in half and it still fed 5 people for dinner - with leftovers for 2 the next day! I let it boil down to a very thick stew. Very Enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States