Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So good. Couldn't use spice packet from rice because of gluten intolerance so added garlic powder, onion, thyme, parsley, bay leaf and Emeril's Essence. Also, leftover ham instead of pork sausage. Fabulous 30 minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very good. I added 1 1/2 tsp of cajun creole spice, onion chopped and 2 cups of long grain rice. Turned out vey well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy1950
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME and easy...highly recommend...very quick to make. Double the recipe and have leftovers - it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
quick soaked dry black eyed peas. Then saute' onions, garlic and green pepper, with small tube of Jimmy Deans sausage. Add beans, large can crushed tomatoes & 1 carton organic chicken broth, you can add water also if needed to cover beans. 2 Tablespoons smoked paprika, 2 Tablespoons Old Bay seasoning, 1 Tablespoon creole seasoning,1 teaspoon dried sage, some pepper. Put on stove in dutch oven and cook the afternoon away, till soup is the consistency that you like. Used uncle bens boil in bag natural whole grain brown rice to put the Hoppin John on. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This soup is really terrific. I have been making it for New Years for sevveral years. Use diced tomatoes with jalapenos for an extra kick, andoiulle sausage, onions, green pepper, and celery. I also add a dash or two of cajun / creole season ing. I haven't added garlin and I don't know why but I certainly will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
GREAT soup!! I don't like black eyed peas but I loved this! I used Spicy Italian Sausage because my husband and I love the flavor of it. I did what others suggested and added an onion, celery and bell pepper. I also added 2 cloves garlic and used fresh grape tomatoes instead of canned and frozen black eyed peas instead of canned. I used brown basmati rice without seasoning and all chicken broth instead of half water. I know I changed this recipe up quite a bit but I still gave it 5 stars because it is a great base recipe that can be changed up according to your tastes. I will definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My husband loves black-eyed peas, so I tried this recipe out today for him. He loved it! Just used a hot sausage and added celery, onions and garlic. Nice way to warm up on such a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe to celebrate New Year's day. I can use the luck! It was great. I used Jimmy Dean Sage Sausage. I cooked it with a chopped onion, green pepper, and celery. I drained and rinsed the fat. I was trying to keep the sodium low, but tasty. I used Zatarain's brown and wild rice mix, a 32 oz. box of low sodium chicken broth, 2 cans of Glory brand seasoned low sodium black eyed peas (drained). My tomatoes were organic and lower in sodium. I used 1 1/2 cups of water due to the additional chicken broth. The seasoned black eyed peas really made a difference, I think. They had really good flavor and a nice smoky smell. I didn't use additional salt, but did add some cayenne pepper and a dash of creole seasoning. This really was good. I can see how it could be varied using different meats, beans, and rice mixes. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I`m cooking as i type. I can`t wait to get into it. It smell`s like mom`s house. God Bless her she could cook. Love all the ingredient`s. This recipe is a keeper for cold days. I doubled the batch so i can have more that one meal out of it. Love the flavor and all that`s in it. Tim Burr from Belton,Mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe was very good and oh so simple. I made it exactly as written and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States