Quick Hoppin' John Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Not typically a fan of black eyed peas but will eat them on New Year's Day. Loved this, however, and will likely make it again during the year! Made it pretty much the way it is stated, except I used diced tomatoes with green peppers and chilies for a little extra kick. My husband and two year old loved it, too! Served it with some spicy southwest cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4carolinas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Yummy! I followed directions, but only used one can of blackeyed peas and a large can of stewed tomatoes. I didn't have any sausage...so boiled some chicken (used wings since that's all I had)...kept that chicken water to add the can of chicken broth to..then cooled chicken and took it off the bone. Cooked everything else as directed and added chicken at end. Wish I had been more prepared 'cause corn bread with it as many reviewers did, sounds perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was awesome! I added more of the chicken broth than what was called for, as the rice tends to absorb most of the liquid. I also tossed in a "few" flakes of crushed red pepper to give it some kick. Loved it, and was even better the next day, although it was more the consistency of a stew vs soup. Still very yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight with the left over Black-eyed Peas from New Years ... IT IS AMAZING!! EASY and DELICIOUS!! I did use one can of Rotel Tomatoes to give it a tiny kick. And I had made a whole pound of peas - so I used two boxes of Wild Rice. Anyone should adjust your proportions accordingly. And yes, as others have said - you can add just about anything you want to this. I've never made this dish - always heard of it - I WILL BE MAKING THIS RECIPE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Just made this tonight. Absolutely fantastic! It was fast, easy and my BF devoured two helpings. There are leftovers and I am looking forward to eating this for lunch tomorrow. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So good. Couldn't use spice packet from rice because of gluten intolerance so added garlic powder, onion, thyme, parsley, bay leaf and Emeril's Essence. Also, leftover ham instead of pork sausage. Fabulous 30 minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very good. I added 1 1/2 tsp of cajun creole spice, onion chopped and 2 cups of long grain rice. Turned out vey well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy1950
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME and easy...highly recommend...very quick to make. Double the recipe and have leftovers - it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
quick soaked dry black eyed peas. Then saute' onions, garlic and green pepper, with small tube of Jimmy Deans sausage. Add beans, large can crushed tomatoes & 1 carton organic chicken broth, you can add water also if needed to cover beans. 2 Tablespoons smoked paprika, 2 Tablespoons Old Bay seasoning, 1 Tablespoon creole seasoning,1 teaspoon dried sage, some pepper. Put on stove in dutch oven and cook the afternoon away, till soup is the consistency that you like. Used uncle bens boil in bag natural whole grain brown rice to put the Hoppin John on. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This soup is really terrific. I have been making it for New Years for sevveral years. Use diced tomatoes with jalapenos for an extra kick, andoiulle sausage, onions, green pepper, and celery. I also add a dash or two of cajun / creole season ing. I haven't added garlin and I don't know why but I certainly will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States