Quick, Homemade Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Not a bad recipe for a quick easy meal. I use Rotel instead of the canned tomatoes to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Thanks for this hearty, easy recipe. I made a few changes and it turned out great. First, I sauteed a chopped onion and minced garlic with the ground beef. I used fresh carrots and frozen veg instead of canned (better texture and WAY less sodium). I didn't peel the potatoes either. No need. I added some fresh basil and dried oregano and let it simmer for a little longer so the carrots would be tender. Next time I might cook the carrots with the beef to carmelize them (AWESOME flavour enhancer). I served the soup with a grating of mozzarella on top and thick slices of russian rye bread. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
My family liked this. I will make it in cooler months. I added fresh celery and 1 medium onion and used beef broth instead of water. It was very good. They guys just wanted saltines & bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Easy, healthy & delicious! I add a dollop of sour cream on top. If I don't have the cans of tomato sauce, I use chicken broth and add 2 taco seasoning packets and kidney beans to make it into a "TACO SOUP" and mmm. delicious! It's a very versatile recipe where you can add whatever veggies, fresh, frozen or canned and it tastes great! Add salt to taste. Cooking with onion also adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Good!!!!! I left out the tomato sauce, added some seasoning salt, garlic, basil and oregano. I think it might've been a touch on the bland side without the spices, but this is a keeper now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is seriously delicious. All it is missing is onion and garlic for a little bit more flavour. I added one onion and three cloves of garlic to the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
first time ever making soup and this turned out great! i didnt have canned carrots or potatoes, but i had canned white whole potatoes that i cut up and put in and it was turned out just fine. i even passed the recipe to my mom to make for my dad who is a soup fanatic! thanks so much for this wonderful and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Good soup..even better the next day! A very forgiving recipe...I can see how you can change it up per your taste at the time, or the ingredients you have on hand. I used ground turkey instead of beef, omitted the green beans, used fresh carrots, and added onions and garlic. Turned out great! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I love this recipe. Its very easy. I was uncertain whether I should drain the tomatoes or not, but I chose not to and it turned out fine! I'll likely make this a lot. Both a fresh and canned version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOHIPP
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Super easy! Added a package of dry onion soup mix and Worchestshire sauce for flavour. Used fresh veggies instead of canned. I left out the green beans and opted to add celery instead. I let this simmer for several hours to boil the potatoes down a bit and it turned out great. So yummy. Would awesome in the slow cooker too. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States