Quick Greek Pasta Salad with Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
A good recipe, but way too oily. I made a large batch for leftovers and got sick of it quick for this reason. With half the oil/butter I think it'd be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was excellent! I will say a few things that would make it better. 1) I did not use whole wheat penne, and the dish turned out fine, however... 2) ...As much as I love an excuse to put steak on things, since I used regular penne, this dish would be better with chicken. Without the whole wheat pasta the steak is just a bit too powerful for the delicate flavors of the pesto and herbs. I can see the steak working nicely with the recommended pasta though--if I use whole wheat pasta, I'll go with the steak, but from now on when I use "normal" penne, I'll use chicken instead. 3) Lemon, lemon zest, or a splash of white wine. It feels like it needs the acidity. I might try playing with this next go. 4) I'll either make my own sun-dried tomato pesto or buy a different brand. This dish gets a good bit of its flavor from the pesto and I was not that impressed with the brand I picked--it was too oily. 5) Speaking of sun-dried tomato pesto, our grocery store has them (and most of their sun dried tomato) in the produce department, not in the isles where you might expect. I do think a traditional pesto would work well though, and might give that a shot next time around. 6) Like others, I used pitted Kalamata olives--straight black olives wouldn't add enough punch. Otherwise, I can't think of much I'd change besides the name--it isn't really a salad but a pasta dish :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
a 4.5*.....used a N.Y. Striploin - well aged. Accidently forgot the basil and parsley. EXTREMELY flavorful dish - loved it. Strongly recommended for steak salad lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is so good. I have made this twice already and love it! I leave out the black olives, but that is personal preference. Also, the only sun-dried tomato pesto I could find (after searching 3 supermarkets) is made by Classico. The jar is small, about half the size of typical spaghetti sauces, and will probably be on the top shelf. The pesto is amazing, making the dish to die for! Highly recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Oh my gosh, I just finished eating this for dinner and I'm soooo full cause I couldn't stop eating it, really delicious! The only thing I omitted was the seeds cause I don't usually have them on hand and I didn't feel like buying them for one meal. But I don't feel they were missed at all. This dish is so flavorful and I love the tangy combo of the sundried tomato pesto(which I found at Trader Joes in the refridgerated section with the gourmet cheeses) and the feta...yummy! I used some leftover bbq'd top sirloin, but I think it would be great chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
SOOOO good and impressive for company...at least thats what I was told ;) I used Marinade for Steak I and then grilled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was great! Don't skimp on the pesto. It takes the full amount to add the right amount of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My family raved about this one and finished all leftovers. Perfect as is, no changes needed. This is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
We really liked this. I found the sundried-tomato pesto at Trader Joe's. I used sirloin steak and herbed feta. I like how this recipe called for whole wheat pasta. I used Trader Joe's whole wheat flax pasta. This recipe does not taste like "steak spaghetti", as one reviewer put it. I guess some people don't appreciate a good dish for what it is. This was full of flavor and I can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States