Quick Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This makes a pretty good ricotta goat cheese, but people should be aware that this is not the cheese people usually think of as "goat cheese." This is goat cheese because it is made from goat milk, but the tangy, flavorful soft cheese most people think of as goat cheese is called Chevre. This recipe is like the ricotta you would use in lasagna, which is typically a blander grainier cheese. It can definitely be eaten like Chevre and used in recipes, but will not have that rich tang like traditional Chevre. To get Chevre, you need to use cultures and need to ripen the milk with them to get the flavor and texture you would expect from "goat cheese."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuggets
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was my first time making cheese and this turned out great! It was a firmer texture than I expected, but still good. I left out the minced onion. It tasted like mozzarella cheese. I used fresh goat milk from our dairy goats. I would make it again, but I will also be looking for another recipe for a creamier cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Well, it was certainly quick and very easy--the instructions deserve 5 stars for that--but we were very disappointed with the flavor. We bought fresh goat's milk from a local farm to try this with and the end result was an easy-to-make cheese that had good texture but absolutely no flavor whatsoever. We are big lovers of the goat cheese that you buy at the store, I'm not sure how they get that flavored the way it is but this was nothing like it. Still the recipe is definitely quick and simple, maybe someday we'll try again and add spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Ok so if you want the tase of the one in the stores use lemon juice instead of the vinegar and just before you put through the cheese cloth add salt (more than you would usually add because much of it will end up in the whey) pepper maybe some oregano and crushed finely diced garlic basically whatever you want and then hang in the cheese cloth for a couple of hours to let the whey drip off in to a bowl. Save the whey in the freezer in quart zip locks to use a soup base or in place of chicken stock in risotto. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this and it turned out fine. I enjoyed it, but couldn't persuade anyone else to try it. Next time I'll tell them I bought it at the store and they'll enjoy it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe was quick and simple. So simple in fact that I really doubted that it would work out as well as it did. We had this with smoked salmon, diced red onion, and capers. It was really fantastic goat cheese. The goat milk that we used was purchased from Fred Meyer in the paper carton. I think that the flavor was extreemly mild due to the type of milk that we used, for a stronger flavor I would use farm fresh goats milk. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
First time making cheese at home. I was pleasantly surprised at the mild taste ( i didn't add the onions). I milk my goats and like the fresh milk, but have never cared for goat cheese. This tasted very good to me and I will make again and try different spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was EASY and turned out to be very delicious! mental note to add more salt, mine came out a little bland. But after adding more salt (garlic salt, basil, and sea salt are the seasonings I used) everyone who tried it loved it! I also use organic milk from my Saanen dairy goat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was so easy and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
This is so simple to make and came out wonderful! The first time I tried goat cheese was at a sampling at one of the wholesale chains and I almost lost it. It tasted like the smell of an old goat leaving me to think that is what goat cheese tasted like. Decided to try this recipe and see how homemade compared and could not believe my taste buds. It tasted delicious like cheese sticks. Just a simple taste. Love it and continue to make it with my extra goats milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States