Quick Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is my kids' favorite way to eat garlic bread. I will usually buy hot dog buns off the reduced bread rack at my local store and use them for this(or you can use this recipe and toast the bread in the oven for about 15 minutes for quick croutons). This is great for making handheld spaghetti sandwiches, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is great for using up leftover hotdog (or hamburger) buns. It's not as *fancy* as some other garlic bread recipes, but you don't end up wasting leftover buns and it's tasty too, so it works for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Definitely a good way to use up hot dog buns. I had jumbo buns so I ended up cutting them in half to make them shorter and for it to be more like breadsticks - I cut it again down the middle. Used Italian seasoning and ate this dipped in Cheesy Pizza Fondue (also from this site). Quick and easy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a great way to use up hot dog buns, I can't believe I never thought about doing this before!! I really liked these not only because they were super easy, but they tasted great too. The only change I made was to use shredded colby-mont. jack cheese. Will make again anytime I need to use up some hot dog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have also used hot dog and hamburger buns to make pizza for kids & grandkids to use up leftover pizza sauce or spaghetti sauce. they are a quick snack.I put them in the toaster oven for a few minutes to toast and melt cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have been doing this for years and it works great, I also change it up some by sprinkling hot pepper flakes and shredded mozzarella over top. My husband likes it with his steaks and Beef Stews. Works with different buns and rolls. Joanfen Woodlawn Va.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodlawn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
OMG! This really gave me a chuckle... LOL! I have been doing this for longer than I care to admit. Also make the pizzas on hamburger buns, mentioned by a previous reviewer. Don't know why I didn't think of this as a recipe, because it really is... and a good one. Being a saltaholic, I use 1/2 garlic powder and 1/2 garlic salt. Never tried basil but will tonight, with spaghetti and meat balls. Thanks KYcooky for bringing this simple, yet tasty, recipe to the attention of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Try with whole wheat leftover buns or sub rolls ~ very good and a bit healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
great way to use up leftover bread of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so easy and good. I always grow way more Basil then I need to so I put some home made Pesto on the buns too then top with some Italian cheese blend or Parmesan whatever I have on hand and bake or broil until golden. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States