Quick Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Very easy and flavorful. My son made me promise to make it again. He loved the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Not authentic rice but VERY good! We all loved this! I used just one bag of frozen broccoli stir fry veggies to avoid chopping, which had broccoli, onions, mushrooms, celery, red peppers and water chesnuts and cooked them in the mircowave. I used only 3 cups of cooked rice and when it came time to add the rice to the bacon grease, I added the veggies, soy sauce and bacon all at once. Right before serving, I added the scrambled eggs. It DOES take up a lot of dishes to make this but everyone in my family loved it and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I throughly enjoyed this rice. The secret is using cold rice. Cooking it in the bacon grease gave it tons of flavor. I'm giong to make it again tonight with mixed vegetable instead of just peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Combine this with the Chicken Honey Nut dinner and you've got one of the best chinese meals ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This was quick. I think my only complant is you have to use so many pans to prepare it. The taste was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Until now, I was over-confident thinking that my homemade fried rice recipe was the best. This was great!! I did reduce the soy sauce a little, upped the amount of rice and added veggies I like (bean sprouts, broccoli, mushrooms, pea pods and red bell peppers). This recipe can easily be adjusted! Great base for you to be creative! Out goes my old recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was delicious. I just used the bacon fat i had saved previously. No bacon. I used veggies i had in the fridge, left out the salt. We will have this OFTEN. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I never made fried rice before. It turned out great and delicious. It is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I was about to post a similar recipe to this when I noticed your entry. I learned this recipe in my Home Ec class all the way back in middle school and I've cooked it ever since. Here are some important modifications I've learned that will solve some complaints about flavor problems. 1. Cook the peas separately and set them aside. 2. Cook the bacon in the pan, remove the bacon, and crumble. Leave the bacon grease in the pan. 3. Add ONIONS! I don't measure, just use common sense and add a proportional amount, chopped. 4. Fry the onions right in the bacon grease until they start to turn clear and slightly browned. Then add the (raw) chopped carrots and cook those for a few minutes. 5. At this point, I shove everything to one side with a spatula and cook the eggs right in the pan on the empty side. Less pans to deal with later and it's easy/fast. Scramble them in a separate bowl first, then pour in the pan. 6. Once the eggs are scrambled and chopped up, add the peas, bacon, and rice. 7. I don't measure the soy sauce I use, but it’s probably more than 2 tbs. I pour on until everything is well coated. This way you don't need to add salt - the soy sauce takes care of that. Hopefully these suggestions help. It's not authentic fried rice but it tastes awesome. I used to use vegetable oil but the bacon grease is already there and it tastes great (if a bit unhealthy... ah well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sporkism

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stilwell, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
very good and tasty.....My man loves it and he hates rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States