Quick Crescent Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My sons and husband enjoyed this recipe a lot!! My "few changes" were - I added 2 tsp of Minced Onion (dried spice) and 2 tsp hot sauce while I was browning the hamburger. I stirred in 4 oz (1/2c) sour cream into the hamburger after it was drained, instead of doing a layer and I used less too (can't even taste it, just added moisture). I also folded in an extra 8 oz of shredded mexican blend cheese with the hamburger. (Extra cheese, in addition to the recommended layer) Crushed doritos as others recommended,on both the bottom and the top. I skipped the olives and served those alond with chunky salsa, shredded lettuce, and the remainder of the sour cream I had bought! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishgirlalbany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used an 8X8 Pyrex dish instead of a pie plate; 1 ½ LB ground beef and two packs of taco seasoning. After making the recipe a couple of times, I found this amount fits best in that size dish. I also recommend reducing the amount of water used with the taco seasoning; it may be to “soupy” for this dish (the seasoning packet I use calls for ¾ cup water for each pound of ground beef, I use ½ cup per pound). If you are planning to have leftovers, I recommend that you not add the Tortilla chips the whole dish, as they tend to get soggy at re-warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I improvised pretty heavily with this recipe as I didn't have some of the ingredients on hand. First off, I used the "Morningstar Grillers" ground meat-like product and mixed in a few spices (cumin, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, salt/pepper). Since the grillers are a bit dry I was adding a little water here and there just to keep it from sticking. I then found some leftover refried beans in the refrigerator and mixed those in with the "meat" while it was cooking. This gave it a nice consistency. I also did not have any tortilla chips, so I substituted black beans. I minced two cloves of garlic, sauteed them in ~one tsp of safflower oil and then added a partially drained can of black beans to the skillet. I cooked those until about half of the bean liquid had cooked off. From bottom to top, I layered the meal: crescent roll(I used the reduced fat too), black bean mixture, "meat", cheese. I baked for 25-30 minutes. I was very pleased with how it turned out. Some improvements to my adjustments would include (which is why I gave it 4 *'s): sour cream, diced tomatoes (to top or added into the bean or meat mixture), avacado...ie something cool. I'm sure this method takes down the calorie count pretty significantly...but the taste is certainly there. If you like beans (which I do), you will like this modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have to give this recipe a 5 star rating because my husband ate the entire pie in one sitting..minus the piece and a half that I was allowed. Ha Ha. I will be making this again..but I will Pam the bottom of the pie pan next time because the crescent rolls were stuck on and hard to remove! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Thanks for this wonderful recipe! We had an afterschool function to get to quickly, and I had no time to waste- this dinner was done very quickly. Also, my picky kids loved it and had seconds! I did arrange the dough a little differently, though...I put the dough "pointy side" out to form a sunburst pattern, then pulled the tips over the meat mixture- so it kind of enclosed it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was a tasty and quick recipe. I had concerns about a soggy crust but it turned out flaky and not soggy at all. I used nacho cheese doritos instead of corn chips. Next time I'll try reduced fat crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe was awsome. The only thing I did different was add a can of diced tomatoes in with the beef before I placed it on top of the crescent rolls and chips. YUMMY!! No leftovers with this dish. Even my 2 yr old liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This gets 5 stars because: It is EASY. It tastes great! It's inexpensive. It can be modified to suit your taste. What a good idea to use crescent rolls as a crust. I used reduced fat crescent rolls & skipped the crushed tortilla chips. I also added a layer of refried beans & put the sour cream on top instead of inside. Everyone loved this. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This is good and quick to make. You can even substitute the morning star ground beef (not real beef) if you are not a meat eater and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I make this healthier with ground turkey, 2% sharp Cheddar, light sour cream and reduced-fat crescent rolls. Can't tell the difference, it's delicious and hearty both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLaPerre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States