Quick Creamy Zucchini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe was easy and healthier than most "creamy" soups. I made the following changes: I doubled the recipe and used chicken broth instead of water and cut the salt by half. I also made a roux with butter, onion powder (didn't have fresh on hand) then added almond milk instead of regular. Once it was thickened, I added it to the zucchini mixture and seasoned with nutmeg and black pepper. My immersion blender worked great to purée the soup...no mess or transferring hot liquids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is pretty yummy! I doubled everything, and instead of mixing the flour and milk, I sauteed the onions in butter, added the flour to make a roux, then added the milk and a pinch of nutmeg to that and heated until the milk was thickened. Then I added the milk/onion mixture to the zucchini and brought back to a boil. It thickened nicely, but isn't too thick and doesn't have a floury taste. I also hit the zucchini with my stick blender after it was soft rather than putting it into the blender Great way to use up some of my many zucchinis!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Morrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, and I found the end product extremely bland. I think with addition of some garlic and extra basil and salt, this could be ok. I tried to fix the soup after it was finished by adding those ingredients in and overdid it (my own fault) and ended up just dumping the whole thing, it was that bad. I have plenty more zucchini to try again! I'll update this review if I decide to try this recipe again, but I think I will try some of the other recipes on this site first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My husband doesn't usually like cream soups but loved this one. I will make this one again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I saw this in the allrecipies magazine and I just knew I had to try it! The first time I made it I thought it was pretty awesome but it had too much of a floury taste for my liking. Thankfully I have a coworker who is like a human version of Ratatouille and immediately made suggestions that made this soup super brilliant! So here is what I do: 1) stir zucchini, onion, water, salt, basil, 1/2 tsp of black pepper and 3 tsp of chicken bouillon together in a pot; bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until zucchini is tender 2)puree mixture 3)pour mixture back into pot, add 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and bring to a boil. thats it. super simple and it was a big hit at our potluck :D I hope someone finds this modified version helpful. cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley Alvarez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made it straight from the recipe and it was fabulous! I was worried it would not be enough water, but it turned out perfectly. the second time I made it I didn't have any basil, but did have fresh sage so I used that. It was awesome as well! The third time I made it (yes, I liked it that much) I added some mushrooms to it just for a new spin. I didn't use a blender, but instead used my immersible blender stick, which worked out perfectly. This is so yummy and light (if you use the milk, not the cream as other have suggested...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Thank you KelseyJo. Love it just as is - but tried it with 1 cup heavy whipping cream in place of 1 cup of milk. YUMMMM! Next time I think I'll try replacing both cups of milk with the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Very good, when made with reviewers suggestions. I upped the zucchini to 6c., and lowered the flour to 2T. Added a small amont of seasoned salt and garnished with cooked bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Saw this in the mag and had zucchini in the fridge. Excellent for its simplicity. These are really all the spices you need. But I would add more zucchini as it cooks down quite a bit and I even used more than the 4cups. And definitely go less on the flour. 3tbsp almost ruins it. 2 med/small zucchini made about 6cups so I will try with at least 8cups next time and no more than 2tbsp flour max. Flavor is delicate so don't overspice. Flavor will develop after sitting a bit. I ended up adding a dash more basil along with the pepper in the end. Perfect recipe size for 1 person. You will not get sick of it before it is gone.yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilovechiffonscooking
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made this it's sooooooooo good! You should definitely try it! I think I made mines a little too thick :( but next time it's going to be a winner!!! Made it for my dad because he was sick and he loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States