Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The directions on this recipe are confusing. I did not drain the water off my potatoes before adding the other soup mix and therefore it came out really watery....make sure to drain your potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Fantastic! Much quicker than my normal recipe. My hints: To ensure it's not too thin, cover the potatoes with just *barely* enough water. I used powdered chicken broth instead of just water -- added a lot. A stalk or two of celery is a great addition. For more depth of flavor, add a dash of worchestershire sauce. Oh, and if you use red or yukon potatoes, you don't need to peel them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Yum! I did doctor the recipe a bit to accomodate our tastes, but the base recipe is perfect. I don't like onions - left that out. I read some of the other reviews and thought that the celery salt sounded good. So I added salt, pepper, celery salt, and garlic powder to the potatoes while they were cooking. I then added a bit more pepper, celery salt with the dash of Thyme when I added in the milk/soup. I stirred in about 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese before serving. Garnished with additional shredded cheese and crumbled bacon. It was sooo very good. My boyfriend went back for seconds - that never happens. Later that night he told me he can't wait for lunch the next day so he can have leftovers. I will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am a huge potato soup fan. So I was a little unsure as to how good this would be. This might be my favorite potato soup EVER! We all loved it. I covered the potatoes with just enough water to cook them and I didn't drain the water (like the other person said) it wasn't necessary. Plus, that would've drained off the onions. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of milk, I used 1 1/2 C. and 1 C. of sour cream and 1/2 C. of cheese. When serving I added the bacon and more shredded cheese. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
this is so good, i love how easy it is - made just a few changes, i chopped up bacon before cooking it, and let it cook about 1/2 way then added the oinion and a healthy spoonful of garlic and let the oinions brown, then added the potatos to the mixture and sauteed them for a few minutes... used chicken broth to cook potatos in, and used cream instead of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
REALLY good. I added chopped celery and cooked them with the onions in the bacon grease (that step has a LOT to do with the great flavor). I also lowered the milk to 1.5Cups, added a cup of sour cream and stirred in 1C of Cheddar just before serving. EVERYONE loved it, and the leftovers were great too. Adding to original review: I was short on time, so I didn't cube the potatoes (just cut into big chunks), but right before adding all the creamy ingrd's, I used a potato masher to smoosh up the softened potatoes. Worked GREAT, and made the soup nice and thick! Also, I've saved some bacon grease so when I don't want to use (or have) bacon, I just use the grease when cooking the onions and still get the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Awesome soup!- I made several changes, however. I did not use bacon at all; I sauteed onions, chopped mushrooms, and chopped garlic in olive oil. I added the cubed potatoes to this and boiled for about 20 min. Then I added the condesed soup which I had mixed with only 2 cups of skim milk. I then added the ground black pepper but no dill. Everyone agreed that it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent! I used 1 cream of celery and 1 cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYOH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very good and flavorful potato soup. Here are the changes I made: 3/4 cup onion, half of bacon in soup and half as a topping, 1/2 tsp. of dill weed, 1/2 cup mild cheddar cheese, and DON'T FORGET THE SALT :) This, in my opinion, brings out the flavor in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Excellent! I was out of onion, so I used a little dehydrated onion to still get the flavor and I used a whole package of bacon. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes. I also topped the soup with shredded cheddar cheese and chopped green onions which made it a cheesy potato soup. It was DELISH! Even my picky kids gobbled it up. Very fast and easy, I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States