Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very quick and easy. I didnt have bacon so I supplemented ham. Very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was SO thrilled ot find this recipe! it is exactly what i was looking for;a quick potato soup with bacon, and this one is WONDERFUL! So easy and my family loved it, i topped it with cheese and some green onion, it was so good definatly a keeper, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am a huge potato soup fan. So I was a little unsure as to how good this would be. This might be my favorite potato soup EVER! We all loved it. I covered the potatoes with just enough water to cook them and I didn't drain the water (like the other person said) it wasn't necessary. Plus, that would've drained off the onions. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of milk, I used 1 1/2 C. and 1 C. of sour cream and 1/2 C. of cheese. When serving I added the bacon and more shredded cheese. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I did not have bacon (and wanted to save the fat by not putting bacon in anyway) so I omitted it completely, added celery and carrots, lots of pepper, garlic salt and seasoning salt. Also added 1/2 cup so of shredded cheese and let it melt in. it was a bit runnier than I expected, so I thickened it up a bit with corn starch. Great base soup for anyones taste, just add what you like, take out what you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centertown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was simple to make and we enjoyed it Very Much! For the leftovers I combined the bacon crumbles on top and then when I re-heated the leftovers stirred them in, it was good that was as well! (I used 1can celery/1can chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
In the 6 years (4 married) I have cooked for my husband he has NEVER turned his nose up at my cooking!!! I am beyond disappointed in the recipe and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a pretty good base recipe but you definately need to add a little to it for flavor. I evenly divided the milk with half and half, used one cup water and one can of chicken broth (instead of all water to cover the potatos), instead of two cans of cream of chicken soup I used one cream of chicken and one cream of celery, added allot of pepper and salt, and added about 3 tablespoons of salted butter and I mixed the crumbled bacon throughout. Now I'm relaxing on my couch enjoying a nice bowl of hot soup with oyster crackers (OK, so my sodium and fat intake is going thru the roof but it is yummy on a cool fall day!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Amazingly simple and delicious!!! Had to mash potatoes a bit before adding cream of chicken/milk since hubby had tooth problem and couldn't chew very well. Cooked bacon and onions together then added potatoes and water on top w/out draining off fat (wasn't much anyways). The addition of cheddar cheese per another review absolutely gave it that extra "something" flavor. Perfect for a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Pretty good, I feel it could be better. Somethings missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Very good recipe, and quick to prepare, as promised. As per other reviewers, I added celery and carrot to the onions. I added salt, pepper, dill and celery seed to the sauteeing vegetables, and adjusted seasoning again after adding the soup and milk. I also stirred in some sharp cheddar cheese. It was very flavorful, even using Cream of Mushroom soup, but as I mentioned I did add plenty of spices and herbs. Served with shredded sharp cheddar, a dollop of plain yogurt and some green onions. My husband had seconds, even though he was full. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States