Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
In the 6 years (4 married) I have cooked for my husband he has NEVER turned his nose up at my cooking!!! I am beyond disappointed in the recipe and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a pretty good base recipe but you definately need to add a little to it for flavor. I evenly divided the milk with half and half, used one cup water and one can of chicken broth (instead of all water to cover the potatos), instead of two cans of cream of chicken soup I used one cream of chicken and one cream of celery, added allot of pepper and salt, and added about 3 tablespoons of salted butter and I mixed the crumbled bacon throughout. Now I'm relaxing on my couch enjoying a nice bowl of hot soup with oyster crackers (OK, so my sodium and fat intake is going thru the roof but it is yummy on a cool fall day!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Amazingly simple and delicious!!! Had to mash potatoes a bit before adding cream of chicken/milk since hubby had tooth problem and couldn't chew very well. Cooked bacon and onions together then added potatoes and water on top w/out draining off fat (wasn't much anyways). The addition of cheddar cheese per another review absolutely gave it that extra "something" flavor. Perfect for a rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Pretty good, I feel it could be better. Somethings missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Very good recipe, and quick to prepare, as promised. As per other reviewers, I added celery and carrot to the onions. I added salt, pepper, dill and celery seed to the sauteeing vegetables, and adjusted seasoning again after adding the soup and milk. I also stirred in some sharp cheddar cheese. It was very flavorful, even using Cream of Mushroom soup, but as I mentioned I did add plenty of spices and herbs. Served with shredded sharp cheddar, a dollop of plain yogurt and some green onions. My husband had seconds, even though he was full. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Fantastic! Much quicker than my normal recipe. My hints: To ensure it's not too thin, cover the potatoes with just *barely* enough water. I used powdered chicken broth instead of just water -- added a lot. A stalk or two of celery is a great addition. For more depth of flavor, add a dash of worchestershire sauce. Oh, and if you use red or yukon potatoes, you don't need to peel them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
REALLY good. I added chopped celery and cooked them with the onions in the bacon grease (that step has a LOT to do with the great flavor). I also lowered the milk to 1.5Cups, added a cup of sour cream and stirred in 1C of Cheddar just before serving. EVERYONE loved it, and the leftovers were great too. Adding to original review: I was short on time, so I didn't cube the potatoes (just cut into big chunks), but right before adding all the creamy ingrd's, I used a potato masher to smoosh up the softened potatoes. Worked GREAT, and made the soup nice and thick! Also, I've saved some bacon grease so when I don't want to use (or have) bacon, I just use the grease when cooking the onions and still get the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This recipe was awesome, i did some doctoring here and there to it, to my likings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Good soup! I made just a half amount and didn't have potatoes on hand. I used the diced hasbrowns potato pieces which worked out great because they already have diced onion in them. This is a very quick recipe for a cold,gray afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States