Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
LOVE IT!!! Easy to make. I added cubed ham and left the dill out. My family loved it.. Even the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
this recipe was so easy and delicious. i did modify it a bit but this was a great base recipe. I added celery and sauted the celery and onion in garlic butter. I cooked the potatoes seperatley and added a couple of tsps of liquid smoke to the potatoes. i reduced the milk to about one cup and added about 2 ounces velveeta and 2 ounces pepper jack cheese. I also added butter, garlic, and liquid smoke to the soup, along with several other spices. Dont be afraid to spice this one up a bit. But the cheese definately added the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This potato soup was very good. This was my first attempt at any kind of soup and it turned out delicious. It wasn't as thick as I had hoped it would be which is why I only gave 4 stars. I did add garlic and celery with the onions when you sautee. I had shredded cheddar and crumpled bacon to put on top each individual bowl. This was good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Amazing! I did mash the potatoes as I don't care for the consistency of chunky potato soup, but doing this makes it almost identical to my favorite Irish restaurant's potato soup. Of course, the addition of bacon and cheese (I took others' advice and added it as a garnish) made it a little more "American" but you can't go wrong with those two ingredients on anything. This is going into my monthly rotation for sure! Thanks Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I tried this soup and it was delicious. I even got my mother to try it and she loved it. She does not like soup. She even had seconds. I made it without the dill weed and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe was really good. It was super super easy! We added a little bit of parmesan cheese at the end, with the bacon. (And we used canadian bacon for a healthier option) I won't say it's the best I've ever had, but it's the best potato soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very quick and easy. I didnt have bacon so I supplemented ham. Very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was SO thrilled ot find this recipe! it is exactly what i was looking for;a quick potato soup with bacon, and this one is WONDERFUL! So easy and my family loved it, i topped it with cheese and some green onion, it was so good definatly a keeper, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am a huge potato soup fan. So I was a little unsure as to how good this would be. This might be my favorite potato soup EVER! We all loved it. I covered the potatoes with just enough water to cook them and I didn't drain the water (like the other person said) it wasn't necessary. Plus, that would've drained off the onions. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of milk, I used 1 1/2 C. and 1 C. of sour cream and 1/2 C. of cheese. When serving I added the bacon and more shredded cheese. It was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I did not have bacon (and wanted to save the fat by not putting bacon in anyway) so I omitted it completely, added celery and carrots, lots of pepper, garlic salt and seasoning salt. Also added 1/2 cup so of shredded cheese and let it melt in. it was a bit runnier than I expected, so I thickened it up a bit with corn starch. Great base soup for anyones taste, just add what you like, take out what you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centertown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States