Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a EASY PLEASER. I recommend sprinkling the bacon on the top of each individual serving if you lik the bacon crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made it 4 stars because its a great base soup. I used twice the amount of potatoes, I only had one can of Cream of Chicken soup so I only added one and one Chicken broth. I didnt have any dill weed but I had fresh parsley and fresh basle, so I added that. I also added 2 green onions cut up. And at the end I added 1 cup of cheddar and 1lb of ground beef. Tasted wonderful! So I give my changes a 5! :-) Thanks! Oh I forgot.. I added 2 tablespoons of minced garlic to the onion bacon fat mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Loved it! I did follow the suggestions of 1.5 c milk and a cup of sour cream. I also added corn, peas, and carrots to make it more of a chowder. I also added a dash of thyme and a tbs. of pepper. I like it peppery! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Mmmm! I did make a couple of changes. 7 cups cubed potatoes, a whole package of bacon (Cooked & Crumbled), RED onion (preference)& celery - cooked in the bacon grease (which I also poured into the soup), added one can of Cream Of Mushroom, lowered milk to 1.5 cups and added a 16 oz container of sour cream. Put Parmesan cheese in the soup, as it cooked (enough to give it a slight taste) and one cube chicken bouillon. Spices: Garlic, Penzey's Pasta Sprinkle, Chives, Penzey's Black & Red, a shake of nutmeg (for depth), and just a shake of the dill (not nearly a tsp). **Did have to thicken up with a bit of cornstarch**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Good, but a little thin. I even used only 2 cups of water. Used others advise and added more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I personally thought this was very good. I made it for a sick relative but probably should have made something a little less heavy for her. Took the left overs home and my husband loved it. He's asking when I'm going to make it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy and tasty. Wonderful combination of flavors. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and added some celery and some shredded cheddar cheese. I also used green onion in place of 1/2 of the onion. Some additional seasonings also thrown in: a little bit of rosemary, some celery salt, and garlic salt. This soup thickens nicely as some of the potatoes dissolve when cooking...very nice texture. Perfect "cold weather food." I garnished with chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapreseStacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Great recipe for us with just a minor change. Used one can cream of celery and a little more milk. The cream of chicken just didn't sound good to me. Didn't use the dill weed either. Delicious warmed over for lunch the next day! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Tasted wonderful!!! I substituted low-fat turkey bacon and that got rid of the bacon grease. i just cooked the onion in a non-stick pan with a little non-stick spray. Still tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States