Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
this was a yummy easy to make recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is super easy and super tasty!! I have added some cheddar cheese and green onions at the end. I also switched to using creamy chicken herb condensed soup. I like this flavor more than the plain chicken soup. It's also easy to make more or less if you want, it's all to your taste and you can't mess it up..I like that ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niftchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Excellent tasting soup-deserves the 5 stars! I got this down to a science, where cooking time is a sweet snap. I chop up the potatoes, enough water to cover and cook them while I'm cooking the bacon AND fresh chopped onions! I also have standing by the open cream of chicken soup cans, milk, dill weed and a cup and so shredded cheddar cheese. I'm convinced area ALTITUDE is the key to the watery soup concern. I'm in New Orleans area-and I didn't have to drain my potatoes. I threw in a cup and so of shredded cheddar cheese-and still had to add a dash more milk to slightly thin the soup. Great soup idea for a cold winter's day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I have made this soup a fw times and eveyone always loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie714

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this today, using canned diced potatoes instead of fresh potatoes. It was awesome. My two year old daughter kept saying "more". It doesn't get much better than that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Social Circle, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is a great, creamy soup. I subsitutes parsley for dill, which was good. Also I accidentally overcooked the potatoes until they started falling apart- which turned out to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Barrow, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is a good recipe to go to when you are looking for a fast and easy potato soup for a quick weeknight meal. I followed recipe exactly as written (draining potatoes of course) and it thickened up quite well as it simmered on the stove top in my favorite cast iron pot. My hubby didn't like the dill, but I thought it was fine. I added fresh cracked pepper and shredded cheese as a garnish prior to serving. I will make again skipping the dill and maybe adding some garlic, corn, and sour cream to give it a boost of flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I used the frozen diced potatoes. I just thawed them and skipped the boiling step. I also added 2 cups of sharp cheddar to give it some volume to the flavors. If I could do it over, I'd do a little less onion, and I think sour cream would be a good addition. Serve with toast (I always have butter on my toast!) or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The soup was great. Made it for my sister and me. She couldn't stop saying "mmMmm"! Changed the recipe a little bit: left out the bacon but cooked the onions and 2 stalks of celery in butter. I suggest making the celery really small and cooking it well b/c it has a lot of flavor and texture. I left out the dill weed because I didn't have any on hand. Threw some green onion on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
this recipe is how i have basically made potato soup for over 50 years. for those who thought it was not thick enough, just add some instant potatoes while solution is HOT. in fact, instant potatoes can be used to thicken most any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nappanee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States