Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Soup was delicios...I use fresh garlic, green onions and reg onions. I use heavy cream instead of milk, I cooked potatoes in chicken broth and added cheese in the end. Seasoned with a lil oregano garlic powder Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Good- but needs a little more "umph" i cooked 8 slices of bacon then removed from heat. I then cooked onion in bacon grease with garlic, and then added 5 red potatoes cut into cubeswith skin. I added water, CORN, celery seed, and salt and pepper and cooked for 20 minutes until potatoes were soft. Then, I DRAINED the mixture and put it into a pot with milk and canned soup, with bacon pieces, small cut turkey sausage, and cheddar cheese added. I let the soup cook on low for 10 more minutes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
AMAZING! And it tastes even better the day after!!!! :D New Winter Staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love this recipe!!! Quick is right! It has become a hit in our family! I read other reviews and decided to use chicken broth to cover potatoes, added celery, milk/sour cream combo that someone suggested, mashed the potatoes after cooking with a masher and added cheese. The only twist I put on of my own was to use white american or monteray jack instead of cheddar. I have had it with all three and prefer the whites. Mostly for presentation. I like the white creamy look instead of orange from cheddar. But they all taste great! I might even try adding some ham off the bone the next time I make it. Thats what I love about this recipe. Guaranteed to taste great no matter if you choose to go with the original recipe or make it your own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
tasted great...a lot of compliments. will make again. i only changed a bit, but it wasn't necessary...cooked with the bacon in instead of adding at the end and added some cheese. the dill weed gave it a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisquig
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent soup on a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I made it just as written except that I boiled the potatoes and microwaved the bacon. It has a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The recipe was so easy to make. Created just a little bit different to suit our taste buds. One thing the recipe does not mention is to drain the water. But if you go by the measurement, then don't drain all the water after the potatoes are cooked. We drained just a little and mixed in the soup/milk mixture. We added cumin, garlic powder, black pepper, dried oregano and basil leaves and salt to the potatoes. Cooked the onions in olive oil instead of bacon oil. We also added Worcestershire sauce to our soup for excellent taste. You can use different % milk to make your soup base thick. Finally, garnished with fresh cilantro and cheese. Overall, the ratings are 4.5 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Sooooo yummy!!! Easy and quick, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very good soup. I followed the recipe but did not use the dill weed. I also followed another suggestion and used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can of brocolli & cheese soup. Soup was hearty and filling. I don't think it will ever take the place of my traditional potato soup, but it was a nice change. I will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States