Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I followed the directions and didn't add anything save for a few extra slices of bacon. The soup turned out very well as designed. Next time I may try adding more ingredients to change it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
TO MAKE THIS EVEN BETTER CHANGE THE FOLLOWING: No dill weed at all Instead of 2 1/2 cups milk... use 1 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup sour cream. Add 1/2 cup chedder Add 1/2 cup milk Instead of water use chicken broth to cook potatoes Add a few shakes of paprika, poultry seasoning, thyme. Also add 3-4 cloves of crushed fresh garlic. Use full package of bacon instead of 3/4. Sprinkle more cheese TRUST ME... ITS MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
My family loves this recipe. I tweak it just a little by adding a whole pound of bacon and the bacon grease. I also add garlic salt/powder. I also add a couple more potatoes to make it less runny and more creamy. I throw some cheese and crutons in everyone's bowl and they all enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
very good my family loved it. Made a few changes to our taste but it was a good and easy reciepe to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
My family really enjoyed this soup. I left out the dill weed and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Used cream of celery and cream of mushroom, and added spinach and cheese at the end. Not my favorite, but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Soup was delicios...I use fresh garlic, green onions and reg onions. I use heavy cream instead of milk, I cooked potatoes in chicken broth and added cheese in the end. Seasoned with a lil oregano garlic powder Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Good- but needs a little more "umph" i cooked 8 slices of bacon then removed from heat. I then cooked onion in bacon grease with garlic, and then added 5 red potatoes cut into cubeswith skin. I added water, CORN, celery seed, and salt and pepper and cooked for 20 minutes until potatoes were soft. Then, I DRAINED the mixture and put it into a pot with milk and canned soup, with bacon pieces, small cut turkey sausage, and cheddar cheese added. I let the soup cook on low for 10 more minutes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
AMAZING! And it tastes even better the day after!!!! :D New Winter Staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Love this recipe!!! Quick is right! It has become a hit in our family! I read other reviews and decided to use chicken broth to cover potatoes, added celery, milk/sour cream combo that someone suggested, mashed the potatoes after cooking with a masher and added cheese. The only twist I put on of my own was to use white american or monteray jack instead of cheddar. I have had it with all three and prefer the whites. Mostly for presentation. I like the white creamy look instead of orange from cheddar. But they all taste great! I might even try adding some ham off the bone the next time I make it. Thats what I love about this recipe. Guaranteed to taste great no matter if you choose to go with the original recipe or make it your own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States