Quick Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
REALLY good. I added chopped celery and cooked them with the onions in the bacon grease (that step has a LOT to do with the great flavor). I also lowered the milk to 1.5Cups, added a cup of sour cream and stirred in 1C of Cheddar just before serving. EVERYONE loved it, and the leftovers were great too. Adding to original review: I was short on time, so I didn't cube the potatoes (just cut into big chunks), but right before adding all the creamy ingrd's, I used a potato masher to smoosh up the softened potatoes. Worked GREAT, and made the soup nice and thick! Also, I've saved some bacon grease so when I don't want to use (or have) bacon, I just use the grease when cooking the onions and still get the great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This recipe was awesome, i did some doctoring here and there to it, to my likings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Good soup! I made just a half amount and didn't have potatoes on hand. I used the diced hasbrowns potato pieces which worked out great because they already have diced onion in them. This is a very quick recipe for a cold,gray afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I forgot to say that we added more bacon and also a can of corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Honestly, this was very boring. It doesn't taste bad; it's just not interesting. Thanks, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I think the fault is mostly mine, the bacon got squishy cuz I added it to the whole pot, then warmed up leftovers..Also I found it very blah, even though I added spices. I'm going to try once more, after all potatos are pretty cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
When I first made this recipe, I wasn't too impressed. I'm giving this 4 stars because the next day it was great. If you are serving it to guests I recommend making it a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
New to soup's... Everyone loved this it was my first try at a potato soup, thank you so much. I just joined to write this review for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was very bland but can be spiced up or additions made, easily. Good "basic" potato soup but needs alot of work to become topnotch. Will keep looking for the "ultimate" potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States