Quick Couscous with Raisins and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great dish. I'm not a big fan of raisins, so I used Craisins instead. The combination of carrots & Craisins made this dish a winner! I'll be enjoying this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used whole wheat couscous and found the combination of sweet and savory very pleasing and intriguing. I really enjoyed this dish. I used all water though because I didn't want to open a can of chicken broth just to take 1/2 cup out. I used golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I make this whenever a quick and great dish is needed. For my tastes, I add a lot more raisins and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
oh my word...this was purely delightful! it was the first time having couscous for both my husband and myself and we both loved it! i made it when having company and our guests also thought this was very good. i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikita
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe but made a few small changes. I grated the carrot rather than diced and with a slight crunch it was a nice texture overall. Also, I grated ginger and added some garlic along with lemon juice to the carrot mixture (as I did not have any oranges at the time) and chopped fresh parsley to the couscous when finish. Salt and black pepper to season along with olive oil substituted for some of the butter as a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The raisins were the best part of this! I also added some leftover veggies I had lying around: leeks and zucchini, and a bit of plain yogurt right before adding the raisins. Amazing! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this the other day and thought it was really good. I was skeptical at the combination of onions and raisins, but they went so well together. I made as directed and next time I would add some extra salt to the cooking couscous. I served this with lemon pepper sole and the flavours went well together. We finished it off tonight by adding mayo and cooked chicken to make a very tasty salad! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsitwist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe is extremely simple no-fuss no-muss recipe ready in minutes. I would add a little more "something" next time to give it a flavour punch depending on what the main dish is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this but used Craisins instead of raisins. It was a little bland but good. I added salt and pepper. Next time I would prob ably use 1 cup broth and 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this with no water, all chicken broth, and a bit more raisins. I also used corn instead of carrots (it's what was in the freezer)... I have to say that couscous is typically bland to begin with! But this was a very quick and easy recipe that is an excellent side dish. I think using only chicken broth (low sodium version) helped immensely with the "lack of flavor" listed in other reviews. Overall, fast recipe for this mom on the go, and goes well with everything from chicken nuggets to pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Letourneau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States