Quick Couscous with Raisins and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe except for the raisins, I cooked them in the water before adding the couscous to plump them up. The recipe was quite bland, needed more salt to bring out the flavors, I did use 1 whole boullion cube in the water but it still wasn't salty enough. It needs something, not sure what. Maybe it'll taste better the next day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
made this for my husband he adored it I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.dean
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I prepared this following the recipe but added a little more raisins. My daughter thought the raisins were too sweet; but she did agree with her husband that the carrots and onions added some much needed flavor to the couscous. I still think it needs more salt added. I did use chicken broth but may switch the amounts of water vs. chicken broth the next time I prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this with no water, all chicken broth, and a bit more raisins. I also used corn instead of carrots (it's what was in the freezer)... I have to say that couscous is typically bland to begin with! But this was a very quick and easy recipe that is an excellent side dish. I think using only chicken broth (low sodium version) helped immensely with the "lack of flavor" listed in other reviews. Overall, fast recipe for this mom on the go, and goes well with everything from chicken nuggets to pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Letourneau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I altered the recipe based on other's comments. My butter is soy/dairy free since my son has allergies to both. I didn't put as much onions and isntead of raisins; added corn cause I didn't want it sweet. I did do 1 cup no chicken stock and 1 cup of water with a pinch of sea salt and it turned out very tasty. Both of my kids actually enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made a couple modifications - I used 1 Tbsp olive oil instead of the butter and I used 2 c. lower sodium chicken broth instead of the broth and water. And based on someone's suggestion below, I added the raisins with the broth so they were plump. With these modifications, the dish was a big hit, even with my 5-year olds. I may add more raisins next time (and use golden raisins if I remember to get them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great dish. I'm not a big fan of raisins, so I used Craisins instead. The combination of carrots & Craisins made this dish a winner! I'll be enjoying this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this but used Craisins instead of raisins. It was a little bland but good. I added salt and pepper. Next time I would prob ably use 1 cup broth and 1 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used whole wheat couscous and found the combination of sweet and savory very pleasing and intriguing. I really enjoyed this dish. I used all water though because I didn't want to open a can of chicken broth just to take 1/2 cup out. I used golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The raisins were the best part of this! I also added some leftover veggies I had lying around: leeks and zucchini, and a bit of plain yogurt right before adding the raisins. Amazing! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States