Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
With extra milk added (about 1/4 c.), this really is a perfectly simply coffee cake. We also use brown sugar instead of white in the cake itself, which gives it a bit different flavor and texture. When it comes out of the oven the line where the cake meets topping is like they mixed together, and the result is yummy! It's usually gone in less than a day at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This coffee cake tastes amazing....when it finally comes out of the oven. I made a layer cake so I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi Grogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I agree with other users that this recipe needs to be tweaked. I wish I would have read the reviews before i made it. The cake is a little dry and flavorless. Next time I will add more milk and sugar to the cake and make more of the topping so that I can cut a little of it into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is a great recipe for Sunday morning when I want something sweet for breakfast. I do not like real sweet cakes so I thought the amount of sugar was perfect. The cake portion of the recipe is great as is, you could top this with almost anything. Not quite a pound cake and not quite a typical cake. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've made this many times with these changes: I always double it and use a 9x13 pan. I use mayonnaise instead of the shortening and it keeps the cake moist and tender. I use 1 cup of sugar in the cake (doubled recipe). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I love love this coffee cake! I followed everyone's directions and added double sugar and double topping and more milk. I also ended up putting a half a cup of bisquick and a cup of four instead and it came out so amazing!!!!! really crumbly/spongy it was perfect! I also added nutmeg to the topping that was a great idea! I ended up having to bake it more than double the suggested time but it didn't burn edges were crisp though which I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Based off the original recipe, I would say I liked this cake. However, when I tried it with the recommendation of others in the comments, adding an additional 2/3 cup of sugar and extra 1/4 cup milk, I LOVED this cake. I would have given it five stars had the original recipe had these changes to it. I also doubled the brown sugar topping, but that is just because I like it extra thick on my coffee cake. Overall, I highly recommend, but go ahead and make the slight changes everyone suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I tried this recipe this morning making it gluten free and it was awesome!! I doubled the recipe when I made it, substituting my gluten free flour for the all purpose flour. Other than that I made no changes and it was very moist and delicious! I have saved the recipe because no one had a clue it was gluten free and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoey Shoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is a good base recipe, a little tweaking and it's great. My cake was very good & moist, but I did make some changes. Instead of shortening I used mayonnaise. I also used 1/3 cup of sugar. In the topping I doubled the cinnamom. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Yum! Super fast, easy. Switched brown sugar for white (just because that is what I had) also added about 1/2 cup chopped pecans to the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States