Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've made this many times with these changes: I always double it and use a 9x13 pan. I use mayonnaise instead of the shortening and it keeps the cake moist and tender. I use 1 cup of sugar in the cake (doubled recipe). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I love love this coffee cake! I followed everyone's directions and added double sugar and double topping and more milk. I also ended up putting a half a cup of bisquick and a cup of four instead and it came out so amazing!!!!! really crumbly/spongy it was perfect! I also added nutmeg to the topping that was a great idea! I ended up having to bake it more than double the suggested time but it didn't burn edges were crisp though which I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Based off the original recipe, I would say I liked this cake. However, when I tried it with the recommendation of others in the comments, adding an additional 2/3 cup of sugar and extra 1/4 cup milk, I LOVED this cake. I would have given it five stars had the original recipe had these changes to it. I also doubled the brown sugar topping, but that is just because I like it extra thick on my coffee cake. Overall, I highly recommend, but go ahead and make the slight changes everyone suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I tried this recipe this morning making it gluten free and it was awesome!! I doubled the recipe when I made it, substituting my gluten free flour for the all purpose flour. Other than that I made no changes and it was very moist and delicious! I have saved the recipe because no one had a clue it was gluten free and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoey Shoey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is a good base recipe, a little tweaking and it's great. My cake was very good & moist, but I did make some changes. Instead of shortening I used mayonnaise. I also used 1/3 cup of sugar. In the topping I doubled the cinnamom. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Yum! Super fast, easy. Switched brown sugar for white (just because that is what I had) also added about 1/2 cup chopped pecans to the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The cake part turned out perfect but the edges burned and so did part of the topping. I think the temp. was to high. I don't think I will use again nobody in my house liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Onestar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Quick, simple and absolutely amazing! The cake is moist, the topping is a little crunchy (and crumbly-beware parents), and the whole is all around delicious. Unlike the other reviewers, I actually cut the sugar (about 2/3 of what is called for) but added about a half teaspoon of cardamom. It turned out so well that this will be my go-to coffee cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Turned out perfectly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe makes a great, easy coffee cake. I did make a couple of modifications, however. First, I doubled the sugar, which gives it a nice, sweet flavor. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. This makes a moist, sweet cake with a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States