Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine Burns
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Aside from increasing the milk to 3/4C I followed the recipe exactly. I do agree that the topping is a bit dry, and would probably add the melted butter to the topping instead of putting it onto the cake. I don't see the problem with adding the flour to the topping as it is such a small amount. I will definitely keep this one around for a quick tasty dessert, and might try some variation like adding coconut or oatmeal to the topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Burns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I followed the tips of doubling the surgar and adding extra milk. Yum, what a great cake. I also, as one review suggested, melted the butter and stirred in the brown sugar and added the flower and drizzled it on top that way and then with a knife cut the topping into the cake a bit. I also added chopped pecans an skor pieces to the top. Served warm with ice cream or on its own, it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wow! This one is a gem! Followed the suggestion of many and doubled the topping and added a few more tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe several times. My husband, my 15-month old daughter, and I LOVE this coffee cake. The first time I made it I followed the original recipe. It was a bit on the dry side. The next couple times I added 1/2 a cup of apple sauce. This gave it all the moisture that was lacking in the original recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
texture is a little tough despite proper cutting in of shortening and not over mixing . Flavor of dough is more like a pancake-- speaking of which, was disappointed that it was rather flat-- only rose to about 1 1/2 inches. I had to make extra streusel just to make it interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious, versatile and everyone loved it. Can't ask for more! Next time I will pour half the batter into the pan, then sprinkle the topping mix (which I doubled) then repeat layers and swirl with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Great recipe... I have been saving it till my day off diet , and i am glad i did.. I did ehat others suggested 2/3 cup sugar in the batter, add 1/4 cup milk too. Made like a crumble on top but to be fair i simply eyed it and pressed the crumbs in a little.. It is sooooooo good... Easy and great :) i am enjoying it right now with a cup of tea, my friend had a slice and asked if she can have a slice to eat in the car coz she was running late :) oh i forgot i used ghee instead of shortening .. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I'm confused by this recipe, where is the coffee in this cake? It may be a South African thing but our coffee cake actually tastes like coffee. Also had issues with step 4 & 5, how can you pour the batter into the pan if it's already there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I came home from work and suddenly I was hit with urge to bake something. Well, I was hoping for a quick recipe that didn't require alot of exotic ingredients and I think this recipe was just what I needed. I already had everything I needed, it doesn't take a long time and the reviews from others were very helpful.I took the advice of adding extra vanilla (no such thing as too much as far as I'm concerned)and extra milk, but I think I put too much because it was a bit moister than I had intended. Will make again and add only 1/4 cup extra milk. Try it when in a pinch, I think you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
i tried it and it was really good...yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States