Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe makes a great, easy coffee cake. I did make a couple of modifications, however. First, I doubled the sugar, which gives it a nice, sweet flavor. I also used buttermilk instead of milk. This makes a moist, sweet cake with a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Fast, easy, and tasty. Just what I was looking for! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
So, so very delicous! I added my own secret ingrediants and the Coffee Cake came out so delicous. At first I was sceptical, then tasted the cake. All I got to day is OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I should have read the comments. My husband tasted the coffee cake for me and said it looked and tasted good but was very dry. I wouldn't make it again without paying attention to the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This recipe is great, I've. Made it many times and it always comes out excellent. Someone said it was like Drakes Coffee cakes and they were right! I like to add more cinnamon and more sugar into the cake batter as well. Try this and you will want to keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was good but very dry. I can't blame the recipe entirely though becuase I read the ingredients but not the instructions, and creamed my sugar with butter (I don't use shortening), than added the egg and dry ingredients. I think this made mine a bit too light, but the taste was still great. I had to stop my husband from eating the whole pan. Next time, I'll follow the instructions and see if it is a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Burns
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Aside from increasing the milk to 3/4C I followed the recipe exactly. I do agree that the topping is a bit dry, and would probably add the melted butter to the topping instead of putting it onto the cake. I don't see the problem with adding the flour to the topping as it is such a small amount. I will definitely keep this one around for a quick tasty dessert, and might try some variation like adding coconut or oatmeal to the topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Burns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I followed the tips of doubling the surgar and adding extra milk. Yum, what a great cake. I also, as one review suggested, melted the butter and stirred in the brown sugar and added the flower and drizzled it on top that way and then with a knife cut the topping into the cake a bit. I also added chopped pecans an skor pieces to the top. Served warm with ice cream or on its own, it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Wow! This one is a gem! Followed the suggestion of many and doubled the topping and added a few more tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I've made this recipe several times. My husband, my 15-month old daughter, and I LOVE this coffee cake. The first time I made it I followed the original recipe. It was a bit on the dry side. The next couple times I added 1/2 a cup of apple sauce. This gave it all the moisture that was lacking in the original recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States