Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This is an awesome recipe!! I had never made coffee cake from scratch before, and in the middle of making it i thought "oh no what did I do wrong." But i went ahead and finished it, and it turned out WONDERFUL! The dish was emptied in minutes! Thanks alot for a wonderful addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Incredible!!! These taste even better than store bought coffee cakes!! I made them into cupcakes (as a previous reviewer suggested) and they were absolutely perfect. To get a crumblier topping, gradually add some in shortening like with the cake until you reach desired crumbliness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This was great, the only thing is that the batter may be a bit stiff making it hard to spread into a pan -- if this happens, adding a little milk while mixing worked for me. I often make variations of recipes I like to have a few new options. This one turned out lovely: I left out the drizzled butter and the crumbled topping altogether. Doubled the cake recipe, added a table spoon of cinnamon, and put a few teaspoons of batter aside. I mixed in a cup of raisins to the main batter and poured it in a rectangular. Then added extra cinnamon to the few teaspoons, some vanilla extract, and a little cocoa powder just to darken -- then used it to marble the cake. I baked it and frosted it after it cooled, with a simple white butter frosting (butter, powdered sugar, teaspoon cinnamon, and milk to consistency). I served this at a Christmas party and people were crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I love this recipe. It's super easy and is delicious. Most of it gets eaten within the day but it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I tried this recipe after reading all the reviews and decided to add 2/3 cup sugar. The cake turned out delicious(not dry at all) and very tasty--my kids and hubby loved it. It did taste more like a pound cake, not like a coffee cake--very yummy though! I put apples under the crumble topping and made another one and omitted the crumble topping and put about 1/2 cup raspberry jam(about 10 minutes before it came out of oven) and drizzled a little icing on top of both cakes after they were baked. Thanks for the recipe--I will definately be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This is a really great recipe for a "Quick Coffee Cake". I was surprised at how light the cake was! It was a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
I have looked for this recipe a long time. I lost it some years ago. The topping is quite vrsatile, it can be used as a simple cinnamon topping for other cakes or breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENE3660

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I took this to Women's Bible Study a couple of weeks ago, and it was SO GOOD! Everyone loved it. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to double the topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Wonderful! I made it in muffin cups and each one was so yummy! I made a dozen muffins. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States