Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great cake! I did not change any of the ingredients but what I did was what another reviewer said and added pecans and dessicated coconut powder. I just roasted both of it and then sprinkled it on top of the sugar mixture. The recipe as such has jus tthe right sweetness. I guess if you want it reallly sweet you might have to increase the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
It turned out alright. I followed the recipe but I wish I read the comments first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
As written I can see that this cake would be dry . . . as others recommended, I upped the milk to 3/4 cup and the sugar to 2/3 cup. I mixed the butter with the other topping ingredients and raked it through the batter. This was a FANTASTIC cake, the cake itself was very moist and tasty, the topping perfect! 5 stars with these changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
It's quick to make, but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I loved this coffee cake. It was definately quick and so easy. I did add more of the crumb topping. My husband said it tastes like the Starbucks coffee cake he loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
After reading alot of the reviews, I decided to use this recipe. I doubled it to make in a 13.5 X 9.5 pan. Other reviews had suggested to double the milk. Instead I decided to keep the milk at what it called for but add 1/4 cup plain yogurt. I also changed the oven temperture to 400'F and bake for about 20 minute's. It turned out better then I could have hoped. The cake was light and creamy and just right in sweetness. (I didn't double the sugar like other reviews had.) By far the best coffee cake I've ever had or made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was great! I took other reviewers' advice, and added an additional 1/4 cup milk and doubled the sugar. I also added one apple, cut up. We like the apple, but I think for next time I'll back off on the sugar a bit (closer to the original recipe), and add walnuts with the apple. A great recipe when you're in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Truly quick and pretty good! Subbed butter for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I really like this recipe. Very good. Classic coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Unlike some others, I didn't read the reviews before I decided to make this coffee cake Christmas morning. It has a great rating and I had all the ingredients on hand. Well, I woke up early to start. The batter seemed terribly thick and more like cookie dough, but I spread it in the pan as best I could. The kids were up shortly thereafter and we waited nearly 40 minutes for this cake to bake. We added 5 minute intervals to the 15 minute cook time, checking with a toothpick. At one point I thought it was done and it was just the topping sticking to the toothpick...nope! Raw in the middle. When it was finally finished I had a very dense cake. It was edible and the kids were famished, but we had to break it apart for my 2 year old twins, it was too tough for them to bite off on their own. There was one piece left over and within hours it was hard as a rock. I think, even with suggestions of others, I won't try this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States