Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was wonderful! Moist and tasty, and most of all EASY! I made the recipe with no alterations, except for adding whole pecans with the topping. I wouldn't change anything else about this recipe - and that is so rare for me! Thanks for this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was okay, but there was nothing special about it. I think I'd rather use a different recipe than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! Please note that the batter will be very thick , even after doubling the amount of milk, as others suggested. I substituted butter for the shortening, and doubled the amount of vanilla. After topping batter with brown sugar mixture I poured an additional 3 T of melted butter over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious--and requiring ingredients I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The best coffee cake recipe ever!!! It's a big hit with my family and friends! I am always asked to make this dish whenever entertaining or going to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We're having a blizzard in MA. The kids have yet another school day. Husband is off today and and I work from home. This put me in the mood to nest and give my family something freshed baked, sweet, and warm. This recipe was perfect! I made a few small changes based on what other reviewers said - increased the white sugar to 1/2 cup, used 6 tbsp unsalted butter instead of shortening, added 1/2 cup buttermilk to the batter, increased vanilla to 1 tsp. To the topping I added chopped pecans, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. I baked at 425 for about 25 minutes. The cake was fluffy, moist, rich without being greasy, and not too sweet but not bland either. Next time, I will mix the melted butter into the topping as others have done, and perhaps run a knife through the topping to swirl it into the batter a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
as originally written only gets two stars. To those who say it's not sweet enough--coffee cake is not supposed to be sweet like other cakes. The recipe as written needs more milk, what a thick mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this coffee cake using some user's advice. I added an extra 3 tbsp sugar and about a quarter cup more of milk. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. It was really good, very moist and not too sweet however there was a greasy feel to the cake so next time I might add either 1/4 cup or less of butter favored shortening. OH! I also added more butter. I added 2 tbsp to the brown sugar mix but also drizzled 2 tbsp onto the batter before addding brownsugar mix. It was delish! Very buttery! I won't do that next time since I'll be adding the butter flavored shortening. Thank you for a very quick and delicious coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas McB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hugo, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I found the recipe to leave the cake a bit dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was so delicious and easy to make! The only change I had was I added a little bit of melted butter on top of the sugar topping as well as under. The extra weight of the melted butter brought the topping down into the batter and made this absolutely delectable sugary filling in parts of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States