Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We're having a blizzard in MA. The kids have yet another school day. Husband is off today and and I work from home. This put me in the mood to nest and give my family something freshed baked, sweet, and warm. This recipe was perfect! I made a few small changes based on what other reviewers said - increased the white sugar to 1/2 cup, used 6 tbsp unsalted butter instead of shortening, added 1/2 cup buttermilk to the batter, increased vanilla to 1 tsp. To the topping I added chopped pecans, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. I baked at 425 for about 25 minutes. The cake was fluffy, moist, rich without being greasy, and not too sweet but not bland either. Next time, I will mix the melted butter into the topping as others have done, and perhaps run a knife through the topping to swirl it into the batter a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
as originally written only gets two stars. To those who say it's not sweet enough--coffee cake is not supposed to be sweet like other cakes. The recipe as written needs more milk, what a thick mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made this coffee cake using some user's advice. I added an extra 3 tbsp sugar and about a quarter cup more of milk. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. It was really good, very moist and not too sweet however there was a greasy feel to the cake so next time I might add either 1/4 cup or less of butter favored shortening. OH! I also added more butter. I added 2 tbsp to the brown sugar mix but also drizzled 2 tbsp onto the batter before addding brownsugar mix. It was delish! Very buttery! I won't do that next time since I'll be adding the butter flavored shortening. Thank you for a very quick and delicious coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas McB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hugo, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I found the recipe to leave the cake a bit dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was so delicious and easy to make! The only change I had was I added a little bit of melted butter on top of the sugar topping as well as under. The extra weight of the melted butter brought the topping down into the batter and made this absolutely delectable sugary filling in parts of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe was not so delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The best coffee cake I have ever eaten, so moist and tasty! The company we went to see asked if they could keep the leftovers! I did read other comments and doubled the sugar (total 12 tbsp) and I added a bit more shortening. As well I melted the butter and mixed it with the flour, sugar and cinnamon before pouring it on top. Used a knife to skore the topping into the cake. Will absolutely make this again with no hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great cake! I did not change any of the ingredients but what I did was what another reviewer said and added pecans and dessicated coconut powder. I just roasted both of it and then sprinkled it on top of the sugar mixture. The recipe as such has jus tthe right sweetness. I guess if you want it reallly sweet you might have to increase the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
It turned out alright. I followed the recipe but I wish I read the comments first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
As written I can see that this cake would be dry . . . as others recommended, I upped the milk to 3/4 cup and the sugar to 2/3 cup. I mixed the butter with the other topping ingredients and raked it through the batter. This was a FANTASTIC cake, the cake itself was very moist and tasty, the topping perfect! 5 stars with these changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States