Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Sooooo tonight was the start of a warm cozy snow filled wkend with my husband an kids,,,, WIth that being said I thought this recipe for warm coffee cake along side a lg glass of milk would be great.!!!! That indeed it was. However I made a few small tweeks.... Starting with ... I baked it at 350,,, Hellooooo am I the only one here that noticed 425 was way to high....... I also took the advice from some other reviews the additonal 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup sugar. Also A little trick of my own was I baked my cake fully then when done I sprinkled my topping over the top once removed from oven,next I melted butter and trickled over the topping. This created A pretty an sweet candy crunch topping... This recipe gets 4 stars from me. Quick and easy..!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Wow!!! This is a very tasty coffee cake! I couldn't find my trusty old coffee cake recipe so i thought I'd try this one and I'm glad I did. I made exact except doubling the recipe and adding scant teaspoon backing soda and buttermilk instead of milk. Also I mixed butter with cinnamon sugar mixture and sprinkled on top. It baked up very quickly so be sure to watch time or it may burn like I almost did! Thankfully it turned out beautifully!!! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this two weeks ago and it was perfect. Used white whole wheat flour, and butter instead of shortening. Otherwise followed amounts and it was plenty sweet for my donut loving kids. Plan to make again tomorrow morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I did not enjoy the coffee cake, the recipe seemed off to me in the first place, this was my first time making a coffee cake in a long time. Its too bland, and who I never heard of putting flour in the crumbly top mix. also the Directions seem to have a mistake also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very easy to make and with simple ingredients. Just made this and its sooo good. I increased the sugar as others suggested and added 1/4 cup of milk...perfection. kids are enjoying a slice right now and the house smells yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Make sure to read reviews before making! I made the mistake of not doing so and while I was making it, I thought the mixture seemed dry (many added 1/4 cup milk) and after it came out of the oven, I thought the cake could be sweeter (most doubled the sugar!) I also liked the idea of dragging a knife through the mixture so that the butter and topping goes to the bottom in some spots. It was good but it needs the above adjustments and I'm looking forward to making it again (the RIGHT way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Very moist cake. I read through the reviews, and decide to do the following: -increase the granulated sugar by about 70% -drizzle the melted butter not on top of the batter, but on the topping once it was placed on top of the batter. -added 2tbsp granulated sugar and doubled the cinnamon in the topping I am someone who ALWAYS reduces the sugar, usually by about 50%, but I nearly doubled the sugar for this coffee cake- the amount in the actual recipe is strangely low. I would definitely recommend increasing the sugar by at least 50%, double it if you like your cake sweet! Also, next time I make this I will definitely double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Thanks to all the excellent review(ers), this was a terrific recipe!!! Definitely needed that extra 1/4 c milk (I used almond milk for all the milk) I added almost double the sugar in the cake (almost 3/4 c) and poured the melted butter on top of the strusle topping. Using a butter knifre to swirl it in. I don't recommend salt at all it you are using salted butter. 20 minutes was perfect in my oven. I used white whole wheat flour for great fiber without compromising taste! (you gotta check that out. : ) Thank you for the recipe, it will be used many many times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey
Home Town: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow. This turned out great! I subbed in 1/4c whole wheat flour to make it a bit "healthier". I may even try a little more next time. Anyway, I also took the reviewers suggestions and did 2/3c of sugar instead of 6 T. It was good. I wasn't sure if those reviewers did 2/3c + 6 T. If they did, that's A LOT of sugar. I might cut back to 1/2c next time. Topping? A lot of reviewers said to double the topping. I did maybe 3/4 c brown sugar and didn't use all of it. I'll just do the 1/2c in the recipe next time. Put topping on first, then drizzled the butter. This is so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I doubled this recipe and put it in a 13x9 inch pan so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes. I added an extra 1/2 c milk and forgot to add the melted butter on the top. I was making this for a breakfast party of all men and had last minute notice so I needed a recipe that was easy and quick (plus required no trips to the store). I haven't had a chance to taste it but it looks and smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States